Homemade Taco Seasoning

When I ask my children what they would like for supper for the week the first answer is usually always, “TACOS!” I’ve always rather been fond of tacos so I really don’t mind paleo-fying some tacos. What I found was my trusty seasoning packet from McCormick that claims All Natural and No MSG (which are winners in my book), just was too salty. Even the low sodium packet made me blow up like a balloon. I really don’t cook with much salt. Just a few cracks of Pink Himalayan salt and I’m good.

So what to do? I went scouring the internet and came up with a recipe. However, the recipe was too small, and needed garlic. This is what came of it.

Here’s what you’ll need for this seasoning:

  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • Salt and pepper

All you have to do is measure and throw this in a tiny bowl. Mix with a fork (or a finger…who’s watching!?). For ground beef tacos I always pour the seasoning on top of the beef then add a little bit of water. Around 1/2 a cup or less, depending on how much meat I’m using. If I’m really looking for a strong garlic flavor, I mince up some fresh garlic. But, as one of the readers mentioned on a previous post, not everyone cares for such a strong garlic flavor. Play around with this and make sure it’s what you like! đŸ™‚

I hope you enjoy this quick and easy trick to taco seasoning. It doesn’t just work for tacos, feel free to use it on chicken, beef, or even tuna. That’s right…I said tuna. (Recipe on the way…)

Come back next time to see what this Spicy, Maraca shaking Common Sense cook will throw together next. I’m sending you full, but not bloated from sodium bellies, from my kitchen to yours.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

