Tuna Stuffed Avocados

I was searching through “the pinterest” the other day searching for yummy, but few ingredient dinner ideas. With paleo, you can really get into some expensive ingredients including nut flours. I came across the idea of stuffed avocados, but I’m sure you can guess by me calling it “the pinterest” I had no clue how to actually go to the recipe. It’s okay. I promise I’m 26…and Yes…I eventually figured it out.

However, I loved the idea and I got the jist of it from the picture. So here I go…Making stuff up again… You know the more I write that the more I realize….I make stuff up a lot. Ha ha!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 Large Can of Tuna (Depending on how many people you are feeding.)
  • As many avocados as  people you are feeding. (I used 5.)
  • Taco Seasoning (I just posted my mix just before this. Go check it out!)
  • Half of a Yellow Onion, cut into thin slices
  • A quarter of a Bell Pepper, minced

Cut up your onions and bell peppers. Add olive oil to a pan, heat (medium works well with my glass cook top) then add the peppers and onions in. They should sizzle as soon as they hit the pan. Cook them until they start to brown then add the tuna and seasonings. Mix continuously so it doesn’t burn, similar to a stir fry. Once heated through and the tuna begins to cook through, it’s done!

While you’re peppers and onions were getting started you can open up those avocados, pull the pits out, and scoop out that creamy, green yumminess! Reserve it in a bowl until you’re ready to plate.

Now, I’ve done this two ways. The simple way is to just throw some avocado in the bottom of a bowl then pile on some tuna, peppers, and onions. But, if you’re feeling fancy, schmancy… Stuff some avocado and tuna mixture into the avocado shell. This was great for lunch. If you add a side dish, it would make a great, light supper as well.

This was so fast to throw together and very yummy. 2/3 of my kiddos loved it and the 3rd…well let’s just say he’s 3 years old and hasn’t been feeling well lately. But, I do hope you’ll enjoy it. If you happen to try it out, come on by and like my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/commonsensecook

I hope you’ll stop by and read next time. You never know what this Quick Draw Dinner Fixer, Common Sense Cook, will make up with her brain next time. I’m sending you healthy fats and a quick meal from my house to yours.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

2 thoughts on “Tuna Stuffed Avocados

    • Ami M. Lee says:

      Oh those all look amazing! I’m assuming you’re a Gordon Ramsay fan aye? I actually had to paleo-fy his awesome Shepherd’s Pie recipe. I think it was the first or second thing I posted here. Thanks so much! I have you bookmarked. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

