A Recipe Review: Beef & Butternut Squash with Pear and Thyme

I have had my eye out on some good AIP (Autoimmune Protocol) Recipes. I only consider it to decrease the amounts that certain higher risk allergen foods in our diet. For instance, eggs, nightshades, and certain vegetables. My son is extremely food sensitive, as am I. I’ve seen a good improvement in his eczema with paleo, but I feel there’s something else preventing it from going completely away. So away I went to one of my favorite AIP bloggers, AutoImmune Paleo, Mickey Trescott.

Here’s the original recipe that I found:

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2-3 pounds stew meat (sirloin tip)
  • 1 onion
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 2 inch piece of ginger
  • 2 cups of broth
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled, & cubed
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 pears, chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon thyme

Let me preface this by saying… I’m southern, so I am terrible at following recipes word for word. I thoroughly loved this recipe (and so did my friend Christen who just happened to be over that night.) What did I change? I used mushroom broth (that I have blogged previously) and left out the mushrooms for garnish. I didn’t have thyme so I just used Herbs de Provence.

Here’s what I did:

Add the coconut oil to a large soup pot. Brown the meat. When it is done, remove the meat (leaving the fat) and cook the onion for five minutes. (Oh how gorgeous these onions were!)

Add ginger and garlic. Stir, stir..and stir….continuously so it does not burn! Just a few minutes.

Add stock and the meat back into the pot and bring up to a very light boil. Lower to simmer, covered, for 15 minutes.

Add the squash, cinnamon, and salt. Stir well. Simmer, cover, 15 more minutes.

Add the pears. Stir well. Simmer, cover, 30 more minutes.

And voila! It was done. This was very easy to accomplish and had a beautiful sweet and savory balance. I just ladled some into my favorite bowl and ate it up. I even had 2/3 kiddos like it! (But the third has been sick and not eating much anyways so…on a better day it could’ve been 3/3 I think ^__^)

You can check out this original recipe and more AIP recipes from Mickey at http://www.autoimmunepaleo.com or on Facebook.

I think next time I may leave the pear and cinnamon out to have a savory version. I think this could be very versatile and I hope to come up with many similar ideas in the future. I’ve done a few more recipes since and I look forward to learning more.

So I hope you enjoy this review of this recipe that I tried. I love to spread the word for other awesome bloggers (far more educated and experienced than myself) and give them all the credit for the recipe! I hope I can bring you more awesome recipes and add some more great people to your bookmark list.

I hope y’all have a great week. Don’t forget to come back next time and see what I’ll figure out next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

