The Breakfast of Champions

I don’t often get to splurge on a good steak. Ribeye steaks are my favorite cut. They have just enough fat in them to stay juicy and tender. I am thoroughly addicted. I usually buy two good size steaks to feed all five of us. Keep in mind, one steak feeds my three little kiddos. I was lucky enough to have extras. I love having leftover steak. Why? Breakfast!

Today was a one hour Diamond Cutter workout. I do DDP Yoga and I have been building plenty of muscle and trimming off the fat, slowly but surely. (You can check out my other Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/journeyonthefinalcountdown) I really needed a big breakfast after I had to recover a little longer. So what do I make? Steak and eggs of course. Even the kiddos like this one!

Here’s what you’ll need to make this like a Champ:

  • Left over Steak, Cut into Pieces
  • Half of an Onion
  • 1/4 of a Red Bell Pepper
  • 3 small garlic clove pieces (Or 1-2 large, depending on what you have.)
  • Eggs (I use 6 for just me and 3 kiddos, or 8 for all five of us.)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Organic Ketchup (optional, I use Simple Truth Organic)
  • Avocado (optional)

Take a good food processor (I use my Ninja that came with my blender that I purchased at Wal-Mart.) and add pieces of steak, onions, peppers, and garlic into the food processor. Pulse a few times until the pieces are minced. You do not want to blend this into much, so don’t over do it!

Add coconut oil or olive oil (which ever you have or prefer), to a deep skillet. Let it heat up just a little bit. You should hear a sizzle when you add the meat and veggie mixture. Just cook it a few minutes to reheat all of the ingredients. The onions and peppers should be small enough that they will cook faster than usual. Once you have it good and slightly browned, warmed throughout, crack your eggs right over the meat. Crack some salt and pepper on top and begin to fold the eggs and meat together.

I did notice that it took the eggs a little longer to cook. I had my cook top on medium and I didn’t constantly stir them like I have other scrambled omelets. So if you see it’s still a little gooey, chill out and let it cook. You’ll see the difference. When it’s done, pour it out onto a plate. Douse it in organic ketchup, and an avocado. I think salsa and cheese would be great, if you tolerate dairy. There are so many things to do with eggs, use your imagination!

If you need a big breakfast like I did you could add a couple of gluten free blueberry waffles, and your favorite piece of fruit. I love bananas after a workout for the potassium that is supposed to help prevent muscle cramps.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. Feel free to get creative and share a picture with me on the Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/commonsensecook because let’s face it…I’m a food picture addict too. Come back next time and see what this Workout Champ, Common Sense Cook throws down next, Diamond Cutter symbol and all. I’m sending y’all lots of protein and full bellies, from my kitchen to yours.

Happy Friday everyone!

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

