Marinated, Broiled Cubesteak

I’ve said it recently that I am awful at following recipes word for word. I fully believe in giving everyone the credit they deserve, so I’ll list the original recipe at the end. Once you learn to cook, and learn what you like and how flavors go together, it’s easy to look at a recipe and add or subtract ingredients.

My broiler has recently become my new bff. Probably because it isn’t on the floor like my gas oven’s was. It is conveniently just that upper coil on the top of your oven. If you’ve never used it before, or didn’t even know it was up there, you should get to know each other. It is a great tool for browning the tops of things like pot pie, chicken, casseroles…and a great way to impart some color and cook some meat.

Here’s are the ingredients I threw together:

  • 5 Pieces of Cubesteak
  • 4 tablespoons of Coconut Oil
  • 1 Onion
  • 1 Small Green Bell Pepper
  • 1/2 cup of Mushroom Broth (See the previous post!)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Garlic

Throw it all in a dish and let this marinate. You could do this over night or a minimum of four hours. The original recipe has you cook it a completely different way, but as I mentioned. Broiler is the new bff. Throw everything into a glass casserole dish. Stick it under the broiler for 7 minutes. Flip. Stick back in for 7 minutes. Keep a close eye on these. The broiler could easily burn these thin pieces of meat up. And that’s it! As long as they’re cooked in the middle, you’re done!

I made a great orange potato mash. The original recipe I learned a long time ago to go with a Cuban pork dish I learned was white potatoes, peppers, onions, and tomato paste. This gives you a similar flavor without the need to use the white potatoes. I’ll be blogging that later on for you. I’ve made it twice this week it was so delicious!

I can’t seem to get the recipe link to work to post here. The original poster was Gutsy by Nature. A great blogger to follow that does AIP recipes. Cut out the peppers and black pepper to be AIP. Check out her original recipe, or you can find it on my Pinterest at http://www.pinterest.com/amimlee

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did! They say rules are meant to be broken…do recipes count? Come back next time to see what recipe I can throw out the window and put back together into something similar but just as awesome! You never know what this Broiler Loving Common Sense Cook will do next.

Happy Manic Monday everyone! ❤

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

