Meatloaf…It’s what’s for dinner!

I have to admit that every time I watch a movie where a little kid proclaims their disgust for meatloaf, I roll my eyes and hold back from talking to my television and saying…You’re mom’s doing it all wrong kid. It’s okay. Meatloaf is actually awesome! My best friend and I have talked for hours and hours on end about the science of meatloaf. I have tried every trick in the book. I often love my meatloaf, but my husband… EH!

My husband often says, I just want meat…in a loaf. He is not a fan of my veggie hiding ways. Yes ladies, I have married the super taster. So, for some reason, last night I decided to give in, but adding in some handy treats so it wasn’t just meat flavored meat.

Here’s what you’ll need for this simplified meat loaf:

  • 2.25 pounds of Ground Beef (It’s just what I had. It doesn’t have to be exactly 2.25.)
  • Pearl Onions
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Garlic Powder
  • Fresh Cracked Pink Himalayan Salt and Pepper

Great isn’t it? No eggs. No fillers. No ratios and excessive amount of seasonings.

Take your meat and add some salt, pepper, and garlic powder to your likings. I love garlic so of course I spread it all over. Mix the meat with yours hands. Add some olive oil to the bottom of a glass baking dish. This is what I used, but feel free to use whatever baking dish you have. Lump the meat into the pan and form it into a flat, rounded edge loaf. It doesn’t need to touch the edges of the dish.

Crush the pearl onions a little bit in your hands and surround the loaf with a hand full. Take four cloves of garlic. Lay them on a cutting board and with the flat part of the blade, bang it to squish it open, but leaving the paper on it. Put one on each side of the loaf.

Throw this in a 350 degree oven for about an hour and fifteen minutes. It takes a while to cook! But, it is well worth it. If you’re worried if it’s cooked in the center, take a knife and slightly cut it open. But, one way to tell without cutting it, if it is not done, is if you see juices running out that are still red, it’s not done. The juices should run clear when done.

What can you serve with this? I stick to the classic meal. I slap some organic ketchup on top. I made some paleo, no dairy, mashed potatoes that were awesome and even impress my pickiest kiddo. I also added a can of green beans. I shared my tip to make these guys taste much better in a previous recipe, but it’s so simple, I’ll say it again. Mushroom broth, salt, pepper, and simmer away. Easy.

I hope y’all enjoyed this Classic gone Paleo. Sometimes we don’t have to work so hard to impress. This Common Sense Cook is sending you a simple classic without throwing in the kitchen sink! Come back next week and see if this Meat Loaf Lover, Common Sense Cook can figure out what to do with that sink!

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

