Epic Noodle Soup

Well this morning was a bust. (See Recipe Review-Coconut Flour Pancakes) So let’s talk about a more positive experience and something that I am excited to share with you. One of the first things I really nailed when I started trying to make homemade, healthier versions of food years ago was Chicken Noodle Soup. I used organic stock, organic chicken, and organic seasonings. I don’t know why but it was superior in flavor and texture to anything that could come out of a can! I dubbed it then, “Epic Noodle Soup!” I even fed several friends, kids, and friend’s kids this soup with many seconds…thirds….and sometimes fourth bowls… But sadly, my favorite organic broth is gluten contaminated, along with soy and milk…Not sure how you do that with what’s listed on the ingredients…but I digress. I had to paleo-fy this and even made it in the crockpot. Have I mentioned? I love my crockpot!

Here’s what you’ll need to get this Epic Soup going:

  • 2-3 lbs of chicken breast (You could use other cuts if you like.)
  • 1 Onion Sliced into Long Strips (Or diced if you don’t like to slurp up onions like noodles.)
  • 2 Stalks of Celery
  • Mushroom Broth
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Olive Oil
  • Spaghetti Squash

To add a good depth of flavor to the chicken I decided to grill the chicken breasts first. I browned them on each side on my indoor grill. I didn’t worry about if they were still pink in the middle.I just used some olive oil, salt, and pepper. I believe if I would have cooked them all the way through and crock pot cooked them…it may have ended up quite dry tasting.

Chop up all of your veggies. I like the noodle like quality of sliced onions. I use a vegetable peeler on the celery and then mince finely. I chop the ends off the of spaghetti squash and then slice it around the middle. I dig out all of the seeds. I’m currently saving seeds to see if some of them are edible like pumpkin seeds and such…Will report on that later if I figure anything out…or just plant them. Cut out the end of the squash so that you basically have a large open cylinder like shape. Use a vegetable peeler and remove the skin.

Add the mushroom broth (I have blogged this if you would like to check it out.) to about half full of your crock pot. Mine is pretty large so I could use about 2 quarts. Add the chicken to the bottom, the onions, the celery. On top of this set the spaghetti squash. It does not have to be fully submerged in the water. Just make sure your lid can fit on top.

I would say about four hours later I checked this. I pulled out the chicken and took two knives and shredded the chicken. If at this point you think you’ve added too much chicken, you could always reserve it for another meal like I did. Add it back in and then start pulling the spaghetti squash apart into strands. There may be some clumps where the skin was thicker, you can remove this or leave it. As long as your chicken is cooked, you’re welcome to go ahead and dig in!

I thought I left my crock pot to cool down over night but I had actually left it on low over night. It simmered on for about 16 hours and really concentrated and reduced down. It really softened the chicken. So whether you cook this 4 hours or 16, it’ll be EPIC!

I hope you enjoy this recipe! Remember, we don’t make mistakes, just happy little accidents! (Who said that?) I’m sending you some warm, soup memories for this upcoming fall and winter from my kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time to see what this Epic Soup Making, Common Sense Cook will throw in the crock pot next. If you try it out, come on over and like the Facebook page to see even more tips, tricks, and common sense at http://www.facebook.com/commonsensecook

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

P.S. The picture above is only after 4 hours. If you let it go overnight, mine turned a lovely orange-ee, amber color. Bon Appetit!

2 thoughts on “Epic Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

