Recipe Review – Coconut Flour Pancakes

I was watching a documentary yesterday and I whole heartedly agreed with something one of the chefs was saying. Cooking is a science. You may or may not agree, but if you look at baking, you might agree. Baking is something I’ve always loved, but always respected enough to follow the recipe. Pancakes aren’t exactly baking but it uses the same principles of having to use certain things, in a certain way, in a certain ratio. I used to make conventional pancaked all the time. I loved making chocolate chip pancakes and I successfully made Kate Gosselin’s chocolate chip banana pancakes dairy free (From “Love is In the Mix”). I knew that the day would come I would need to try to paleo-fy them.

So off I went into the interwebs, full of hope. I found a recipe with plenty of good reviews of fooling hubsy into thinking they were real pancakes.

Here’s what the recipe called for:

  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon raw honey
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour, sifted
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Cream together coconut oil and the honey. This just means, take a whisk and mix them well. Add in 1 egg at a time.

Add the coconut milk and vanilla and mix until smooth.

Add the coconut flour and mix until smooth.

Add cream of tartar, baking soda, salt. Mix just a bit, the recipe stresses not to mix it too much.

My mixture did not turn out thin like pancake batter, so I just scooped it out of the bowl with a spoonula. Use a small pan to do an individual pancake at a time. Once you get a rhythm going, this isn’t that labor intensive for batch work. Put a tip of a tablespoons worth of coconut oil in the pan. If you’re stove is like mine it is slightly tilted. This was helpful. I swirled the oil around till it melted just a bit and I put the batter at the backside of the pan where the oil had gathered. These cook extremely fast and do not need high heat. I kept turning my stove down and eventually landed on 4. The pancakes are very squooshy and wet and do not cake up very well. A spatula to flip these was ridiculously difficult, so if you want to do these pancakes I hope you know how to flip a pancake.

The pan should be well oiled enough so that you can careful slip the pancake back and forth in short movements. Think of any television chef that you see swishing and swirling food in a pan with those short strokes. Prepare yourself….1, 2, 3….With a long, swift tilt of the pan you flip it over….I may not be explaining this well but I am sure YouTube could help if you’re more of a visual learner like I am. Flipping this pancake was mostly easy but since it cooked so fast the inside remained a bit gooey, instead of cake like.

I am not naming the name of the recipe originator only because this is not a great review. I don’t want to harm anyone’s reputation or keep someone from at least trying a recipe. This was much closer than my pumpkin pancaked disaster that turned into pumpkin mush. I have never been a big fan of plain pancakes, so I wasn’t surprised when I didn’t care for the goopy pancake. My husband wouldn’t even eat them because of the flavor and nearly spit it out. Yes, I cried… He had asked for pancakes and I gave him this in the hopes of fooling him as others had. The one bright light is…My kids loved them! I drizzled a little bit of quality maple syrup on their pancakes and they ate them up and asked for more. I might also mention that I had to double this recipe to feed two adults and three kiddos…even though I ate half of mine and my husband only took a bite. It would’ve been enough to feed us all.

It only seems Common Sense to me to share the successes and the failures…and the semi-failures with you guys. If the person who wrote this recipe happens by here, know that it was a great idea…It’s probably just us. If you would like to be credited in an only semi-positive review, just let me know! I encourage everyone to give it a shot. It wasn’t hard to make, and you may find you like it. As my Aunt Linda always says, “Different strokes, for different folks.”

If you try out this recipe, let me know your opinion below, or come by the Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/commonsensecook and leave me a picture!

From my kitchen to yours, I’m sending my love, Common Sense, and 2 cents on this recipe. I hope you’ll come back next time. The best thing about this community with Paleo is being able to share the recipes and knowing that even if we don’t like it, someone else could.

Leave a Reply

