Manic Monday – Breakfast

While my children aren’t in school yet, I know come next August I will be sending two of my kiddos to Kindergarten. I am more than a little apprehensive about sending them to a public school for more than a few reasons, but most of all I worry about their food. I am working now on figuring out packing lunches, snacks, and teaching them to only eat what I send. I also know it is my responsibility to start them off right with a good breakfast in the morning. Cereal? No thank you…. Muffins….EHH!? Poptarts… Please…there’s no way I’m feeding my kids that empty calorie junk.

So for Manic Monday this week I want to share one of the easiest breakfasts I know. I was buying gluten free waffles, but I turned that box and low and behold….rice…corn….soy… Not paleo friendly. I’m actually a little sad about this. Thankfully, my kids are in love with eggs right now. Protein is a big deal in keeping us feeling full longer. The sausage I use doesn’t cook out a ton of fat, so they’re getting a healthy, moderate amount of fat, and on top of this  you can throw out a banana, or hide some onions, red peppers, tomatoes inside to send them some veggies. I will share my basic recipe and then you can play around with it.

Here’s what you’ll need to fish out of the fridge for this Manic Monday breakfast:

  • Gluten Free Sausage (I use Jimmy Dean, marked GF. You have to watch for seasonings in these ground meats.)
  • Eggs (I use 6 for me, and 3 little kiddos or 8 for all five of us.)
  • Ketchup (I use Simple Truth Organic Ketchup from Kroger.)

Open your package of sausage and put it in a deep pan. Break it into pieces with a spatula. Brown the sausage and stir and break up. This shouldn’t take more than 5 to 10 minutes. It really depends on how hot and fast you are comfortable with cooking.

Now…here’s the interesting part. I actually learned this from my dad. He did this the best..and that’s saying something because he’s probably cooked for me only a handful of times growing up. I experimented with this for years and it just wasn’t the same…So I figured…What would Dad do that would be the most simple way?

Add your eggs right on top of the sausage. Depending on the quality of sausage you may or may not need to drain your sausage. Give it a minute to let it start cooking and then start stirring until the eggs are yellow, fluffy, and there are no “gooey” looking spots.

Divide them up in a bowl and top it with your favorite condiment. I like ketchup or mustard. As I mentioned earlier, if you have some pre-chopped (or minced) peppers and onions, that can add a little more adult flavor, and hide some yummy veggies in breakfast. If you love avocado, I enjoy cutting one up on the side.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and it keeps you sane when trying to feed your kiddos on a Manic Monday. If you try it out, feel free to come by and like the Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/commonsensecook and remember, I love food pictures! I’m sending you full bellies that stay full for longer, from my kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time (I try for Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, with the occasional weekend post.). Come see what this Morning Glory, Common Sense Cook will feed her kiddos (and her hungry husband) next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

