Recipe Review – Sweet Potato Apple Hash

I am having quite a bit of fun doing these recipe reviews. I never want to claim these recipes as my own, and as long as it’s a good review, I’m happy to name names! Today’s name that I can’t wait to share is Stacy from Paleo Parents. I discovered Paleo Parents through Dr. Sarah, The Paleo Mom. They do a great podcast together, and I’ve been following Stacy and her empowering words from losing weight, but loving yourself no matter what your size. She does Strong(Wo)man and loves lifting heavy things.

I’ve tried a few recipes and I usually enjoy them just fine. What I made this morning sent me to heaven! I was going to wait and post this on Friday but I can’t help it. I love you guys too much to hold out on you! I will sing the praises of this recipe far and wide! I for one hope to invest in a couple of their cookbooks. If this is any indication of the standard of their quality, it would be an investment well made.

Here’s what you’ll need….No it’s true, this is all you need:

  • 2 Green Granny Smith Apples, Peeled and Diced
  • 2 Sweet Potatoes, Peeled and Diced
  • 1 Large Yellow Onion, Diced
  • 2 Tablespoons of Lard (I used FatWorks 100% Grassfed Lard.)
  • 1 pound Ground Breakfast Sausage (I used Jimmy Dean, Gluten Free.)
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

Now…If you’re a perfectionist like me, this can be slightly tedious. I started with the apple. I peeled it with a vegetable peeler then use an apple corer and slicer to make quick, efficient work. I dice it into tiny square pieces. I then peel the sweet potatoes. I love sweet potatoes and I recently came to a possible tip. I usually buy the biggest potatoes I can find in the bin. But…I came across some smaller potatoes and bought what I could find. The smaller potatoes seem to be easier to peel and are much easier to cut. It was also easier to dice the potatoes by slicing them length wise instead of in circles. I also diced the onion. I separated into bowls to make adding them to the pan easier.

You first add the lard and let it melt.

Let the pan get hot so that the sweet potatoes sizzle immediately when you put them in the pan. Use a very deep pan or even a pot. You’ll be shocked by how much this actually makes. Add the onions as well. Cook them until they start to brown and get soft.

I then moved the sweet potatoes and onions around the side and open the sausage and place it in the middle. I begin to break up the sausage and start to fold the sweet potatoes and onions over the sausage. I continually stir, fold, and break up the sausage. The original recipe says to cook until sausage is cooked. My experience, it took about 30 minutes, mainly because, I wanted it nice and golden.

All my kiddos asked for seconds and ate it up! I put just a bit of organic ketchup on it and I was in heaven. I have to admit…I ate three bowls. Moderation was not in my vocabulary after this! I am even having my husband pick up more sausage so I can make it again! I love the idea of getting fruits and veggies and protein in a breakfast. I have been full all day.

I am so excited to share Stacy’s recipe and let you know how I did it and how good it was. Go check out the original recipe that accompanies a whole post on camping. I love that if we do go camping these are easy to keep ingredients, it is one pot, and I bet this tastes even more heavenly in a cast iron skillet over a fire. It can’t get much better than this… I may regularly schedule this on my weekly grocery list. The ingredients are simple, easy to find, and reasonably priced. I could feed my family of five very well for (by my math) $1.50 a person or about $7.50 for everything except the lard, which I already had, and salt and pepper, which is a pantry staple that I don’t count.

I hope you enjoy Stacy’s recipe. Here’s the original link: http://paleoparents.com/featured/glamping-how-to-camp-paleo-style-with-glamour-2/ Go check her out. If you try this out, come on by the Facebook page and let me know (or leave in the comments below, Who is you’re favorite Paleo Blogger? I can’t pick a favorite but Stacy and Sarah take the awesome Paleo Cake.

I’m sending you my 2 cents on this recipe hoping to save you a buck, from my kitchen to yours. Come back next time and see what this Hash Obsessed, Common Sense Cook tries next. My motto? Sharing is caring.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Update 12/24/2014: I have experimented a lot with this recipe since I posted it. Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  1. Take the time to cut a good chop on the vegetables. I have tried to put it in a food processor to mince, cut time in half, and it was not successful. It was mushy and lost a lot of the flavor.
  2. Lard or Tallow works really great. I’ve tried olive oil, and it’s okay if that’s all you have…but I think I prefer and would buy tallow just for this recipe.
  3. If you have a really sticky, well blended sausage, it helps to use a spoonula or spatula to almost slice. Do this in several directions and it’ll break up much easier than just smooshing it to death.
  4. I am confident that if you use your own homemade AIP-friendly sausage that this would be an awesome breakfast dish! I will be doing AIP after the first of the year, so hope to bring some more AIP-Friendly dishes and ways to feed yourself AIP and with a family of non-paleo husband/semi-paleo kids in the future.
4 thoughts on “Recipe Review – Sweet Potato Apple Hash

Leave a Reply

