Manic Monday – Paleo Granola

Breakfast has never been my favorite meal of the day. I admittedly used to despise anything breakfast related. I did not like eggs, pancakes, waffles, cereals, or milk. Over the years, I have found a love for eggs; evident by the five dozen eggs I bought for the next two weeks. I recently discovered our favorite frozen, gluten free waffles have rice, corn, and soy in the ingredients list. This is not paleo, and it is starting to make sense why they were never very filling for long.

So, bing, bang, boom. Paleo Granola. It has nuts and seeds with healthy fats. It is filling, delicious, and not processed junk. I started with The Paleo Mom’s recipe and then branched off with an idea of where to go.

Here’s what you need for this yummy breakfast:

  • 2 Cups Hazlenuts
  • 2 Cups Pecans
  • 1 Cup Shelled Pumpkin Seeds
  • 1 Cup Sunflower Seeds (Not Salted)
  • 1/4 Cup Local Raw Honey
  • 1/3 Cup Coconut Oil
  • 1 Teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Ginger
  • 1/8 Teaspoon All Spice
  • 1/8 Teaspoon Cloves

If you’re going out to buy everything on this list, I warn you it could get expensive. But, if you already have most of the ingredients, it is so fast and easy to make. There are so many benefits to this recipe! You get the healthy fats from the nuts and seeds, you get help from the honey in the form of allergy relief and anti-bacterial qualities, plus cinnamon and coconut oil are great for you too. I would send you to Google, but you’d be busy for hours reading on the benefits of all of these ingredients. 🙂

Preheat your oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit

Add all of your nuts to a medium sized mixing bowl. Pour the honey, oil and seasonings over top. Use a spoonula to mix it well. Spread it over a baking sheet. I was able to cover my entire 13 x 11 size sheet. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown. Leave it on the sheet to completely cool if you want it to be a little chunkier. Break apart and enjoy!

This was a big hit with all three kiddos! My husband didn’t get the chance to try it but I’m so excited to see if he likes it. I put the leftover up in a Tupperware and a Ziploc bag. This big batch will last us a couple of days, so it will be great to make on a Sunday afternoon and have prepared for a Manic Monday. However, it’s so easy, if it’s mid-week and you need to throw some in the oven after supper, you could certainly do so.

I hope you enjoy this recipe for Paleo Granola. I encourage you to play around with this recipe and make it your own. I’m sending you an amazing smell house, from my kitchen to yours. Come back next time to see what this Nutty, Common Sense cook will mix up next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

One thought on “Manic Monday – Paleo Granola

Leave a Reply

