Recipe Review – Prosciutto Pesto Chicken Roulade

I am always looking for something new. Something exciting. Something to make people think. Delicious, Impressive, and most of all, pleases all five of us. This recipe from Against All Grain (http://againstallgrain.com/2013/04/07/prosciutto-pesto-chicken-roulade/) did just that! I am beyond excited to pass this one on and I hope you’ll check Danielle out on her website and other social media. She also has a new book out that has had many great reviews.

So here we go!

Here’s what you’ll need for this amazing recipe:

Pesto:

  • 1/2 Cup Packed Basil (I found a larger bunch at Wal-Mart.)
  • 1 Garlic Clove
  • 2 Tablespoons Pine Nuts
  • 1/8 Teaspoon Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Parmesan cheese (Optional! I made mine without and it was awesome! This would make it paleo and vegan friendly!)
  • 1/4 Cup Olive Oil

Chicken Roulade:

  • 6 Chicken Breasts
  • Pesto (I used every bit of what I made from the recipe above.)
  • Proscuitto (I found Proscuitto de Parma from Boars Head at Kroger for $7.50. An expensive but awesome treat.)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Broccoli Side Dish:

  • 1 Crown of Broccoli
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and pepper

I pulled out my handy dandy, Ninja Food Processor. I add all of the ingredients except for the oil for the pesto. Blitz it until finely minced. The hard part with this version of processor is there is no way to slowly add the oil. So, I simply removed the top, added just a splash at a time. I added it to a small bowl and tossed a spoon in, so it would be ready for the chicken.

I chopped the tops apart on the broccoli. I tossed them in olive oil, salt, and pepper. I throw it in a pan with a little bit of water. I put the lid on and let it steam for about 10 minutes. I did not want it fully cooked yet. Set it aside.

I do not have a meat cleaver. I used a metal measuring cup and used the corner to pound it out. Sometimes, you just have to improvise. I wrapped my cutting board in plastic wrap. Placed the chicken on it, then covered it with another piece of plastic wrap. I banged it out as thin as I could get without it tearing.

I would recommend if you only buy one package of prosciutto and need to halve each piece, go ahead and do that ahead of time. Spread them out on a plate. They are so thin and will easily stick to each other. I assembled mine as I finished flattening each piece of chicken.

Add about a teaspoon of pesto to the center of the chicken then place a piece of prosciutto along the middle. Start at the small, tip end and roll it up. I set each of mine in my glass casserole. When all of them are complete, drizzle more olive oil over the chicken and crack salt and pepper over each piece, and I set the casserole by the stove. I add olive oil to a deep pan. I made sure to brown each piece one at a time. This is time consuming but it really was important because some of them wanted to fall apart. I would tip the pan and use the depth of the pan to my advantage. This allows you to tip the pan, brown the sides, and try to keep them from unrolling.

I threw them back in the casserole. I am questioning this just a bit. I’m wanting to learn more about cross contamination. It did all go into the oven, so I do not think any germs would survive, but if anyone has more information on this, feel free to leave me links in the comment section below. I add the broccoli around the chicken.

The original recipe calls for 10 minutes, but I had to cook it for 30 minutes. Turning the chicken over after 15 minutes.

Not only did I love it. Not only did my kids love it….but….MY HUSBAND LIKED IT! I nearly cried when he told me he would eat it again. I am so thankful for this recipe. Even though it seems rather fancy, it was quite easy to make. I sliced each piece of chicken into slices and added some broccoli on the side. I minced up a cooked piece of prosciutto to top off the broccoli. Not only did all three of my children (ages 3, 4, and 5!!!) ate ALL of their broccoli and my husband liked that as well.

It’s recipes like this that make me want to keep cooking. I also learned a new technique that I hope I can experiment with in the future. I hope you will check out Danielle from Against All Grain, and enjoy this recipe. Who knows what recipes I’ll try next, so come back next time and see what I’ll try to cook up next. Lots of love from my Prosciutto Loving, Common Sense Kitchen to yours.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

P.S. Thank you so much Danielle for this recipe. I now have hope that I can feed my husband paleo and for him to actually enjoy it. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

