Orange Sauce

Roasted Red Pepper Artichoke Alfredo

My husband actually asked me to make this. If my husband loves it enough to ask for it, I know it’s a favorite. The hard thing about the original recipe is that is uses heavy cream and Parmesan or Asiago. But, as I’ve mentioned, my youngest does not tolerate cow’s milk in any capacity. Using all goat cheese, he definitely tolerated it much better. The flavor was beautiful and rich, and my husband didn’t even know that I tried to paleo-fy it! I have even impressed my husband’s family with the original.

This is not an original recipe. However I have modified this to be closer to paleo and hope to some day make zucchini cheese or cauliflower cheese and see if I can mimic goat cheese. I can safely blame my husband for loving this dish! This is always a great way to get your family to eat unique vegetables that they may otherwise not like. For instance, my husband does not like onions, but loves this sauce.

Here’s what you’ll need for this unique sauce:

2 whole red bell peppers
Olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup whole fat coconut milk (found a can in the Asian food section)
4 oz garlic & herb goat cheese
2/3 cup plain crumbled goat cheese
1 can of artichoke hearts

Turn your broiler on high. Cut the top and seeds out of the bell pepper. Put on a cookie sheet covered with aluminum foil (my bff to help with clean up.) Blacken the pepper on all sides. This is tedious but it’s usually more cost effective to do this yourself. Let the pepper cool a few minutes Then peel the charred skin off. Chop. Put in a bowl to add to sauce later.

Add a swirl off olive oil to a deep pan or pot. (Use a pot for sure if you double the recipe.) Add the onions and let them soften. As you notice they are close to soft add the artichokes. Buying the quartered ones helps, otherwise chop up then add. Add the minced garlic last. Nothing worse than burnt garlic.

Open the can of coconut milk. You need the thick fatty cream layer. Don’t shake the can. Just open and pour. Add to the sauce pan. This replaces the dairy 1/2 & 1/2 in the sauce. Add all of the goat cheese and let it melt and thicken the sauce. Add the red bell pepper and simmer 10 minutes.

Carefully add the chunky sauce to a large blender. Blend until smooth and creamy. You can add it back to the pan and let this simmer while you finish and has done well stirred often in a crock pot.

Chicken is by far my favorite meat pairing. I’ve done Chicken meat balls (in that crock pot), ground chicken & spaghetti, and tonight was over a breaded Chicken breast.

Orange Sauce

While this isn’t paleo, it is a family favorite and I can say as someone sensitive to cow dairy that I am tolerating this better…even just cutting the cow dairy out.

I hope you enjoy this recipe! If you’d like to check out the original recipe go here: http://www.laurenslatest.com/roasted-red-pepper-goat-cheese-alfredo/ If you try this out, feel free to come by the Facebook page and share a picture. http://www.facebook.com/commonsensecook Come back next time and see what else I can paleo-fy next. I’m sending you my families favorite sauce from my kitchen to yours.

Bon Appetit! Happy Halloween.

Leave a Reply

