Common Sense Philosophies – Find Inspiration

The Best People, Julia Child

When you’re starting your cooking journey, whether you are going to culinary school or a young kid learning how to fend for yourself, you need inspiration. I encourage you to start with one televised chef. Some of my favorites are Gordon Ramsay, Emeril Lagasse, Lydia Bastianich, and of course, the mother of all cooking inspiration, Julia Child. You can find many of these wonderful people on YouTube. Go watch and study them. Get lost for hours in their personality and passion.

The reason I started cooking was because I wanted to cook healthier food. I started with organic food after researching conventional vs. organic for a college research paper. I fell in love with watching shows on cooking. I watched Ming Tsai and Lydia Bastianich on the create network. I had a friend that was a trained cook. I often picked his brain on technique and quality of ingredients.

Since coming home in August my cooking has been my salvation and therapy. Not being able to cook for four months was down right torture. You could say I’m probably compensating for lost time. But, I have discovered the deepest love for Julia Child. Even though she isn’t gluten free or paleo like my family, the principles of using quality ingredients and cooking at home are timeless wisdom that anyone can adhere to.

You may pick up a new, interesting vegetable at the farmer’s market. I did this a while back with butternut squash. Trust me…now I’ve found excuses to buy it! Or, take a cue from your family. Look at your successes and failures. Never give up on a recipe. Don’t be afraid to take an idea and run with it. Last night I took the idea from the Korean Supper Chicken and used it to make meatballs. My husband tried it and loved them! I nearly cried, I was so happy that he liked them and he suggested some rice (which isn’t paleo, but okay), and some ginger dressing.

So this Common Sense cook takes inspiration from many places, but most of all I use a little common sense…who knew, right? I learn many of my techniques from watching those who are far more experienced than I am.

Go out there and get excited, get inspired and know that you are doing something amazing for your family. You can always come back here or on the Facebook page (www.facebook.com/commonsensecook) and I’ll be there to cheer you on.

I’m sending you inspiration and Common Sense Philosophies from my kitchen to yours. I can’t wait to write to you guys again. Peace, Love, and Happy Cooking, and Bon Appetit.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

My Quote

Leave a Reply

