Manic Monday – A New Way to Do Souvlaki

Souvlaki Before and After Souvlaki in the Crock Pot

One of the first recipes I wrote for the blog and the food column in our local paper was Souvlaki (Blog title: Inspiration for Greek Food). Ever since I first made this dish with a friend, I have been hooked. I make this 2 to 3 times a month and with the update on this recipe, it may go up! The flavor is enhanced and it is so delicious. I am truly excited to make this dish more accessible to more people. Throw this in your crock pot in the morning and by supper time you’ll be in heaven.

Here’s what you’ll need for this Greek dish:

  • Country Style Pork Ribs (I think next time I’ll buy two packages.)
  • 1 Bottle of Red Cooking Wine (We’re in a dry county, so if you can get wine, use something you would drink!)
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Dill (Seriously, if you can, don’t use dried. Dill is so much more amazing fresh.)
  • Fresh Garlic (Add to your liking. I added 5 small cloves to finish off an old clove.)
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • Onion, Sliced
  • Salt and Pepper

Throw in your ribs and crack some salt and pepper over them. Add the wine. They do not have to be completely immersed, but get it close to the top. Add all of the seasonings, onion, and the juice of the lemon.

Let this cook on high for 4 to 6 hours or low for 6 to 8. I did mine on high for 4 hours and low for the last two. The longer it cooked, the softer and more delicious it became. I whipped up some mashed potatoes and used full fat coconut milk instead of regular cow’s milk. It did not leave a coconut flavor as you would think. The juice from the pork made a lovely gravy. The after picture above was after the 4 hours. It was very yummy then, so if you forget, or put it on at lunch, no worries! The plated picture was about 7 or 8 hours.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I encourage all of you to play around with the way you cook a recipe. The only wrong way to cook, is to not cook at all. 🙂 I’m sending you the yummiest smelling house, from my kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time to see what this Common Sense Cook will throw in that crock pot next.

Happy Cooking.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

3 thoughts on “Manic Monday – A New Way to Do Souvlaki

Leave a Reply

