Jazz Up Some Gluten Free Bisquick

Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes

A family member was so kind to send the kids a bunch of treats! Included in one of the boxes was some gluten free bisquick. GF Bisquick is not paleo because it uses Rice and Soy, but I follow the 80/20 rule for my children, and occasionally go ahead and eat it myself. As Julia Child says, “Everything is fine in moderation, including moderation.”

I have mentioned in past posts that I have never been a fan of breakfast foods. So I was thinking on this plain GF Bisquick thinking…What am I going to do to jazz this up. I am out of almond butter and jam… Pumpkin spice! I have been using it a lot lately whether I put pumpkin in a recipe or not (like the Paleo Granola recipe). Hip trends aside, it’s just a great spice combination.

Here’s what you’ll need for these Spiced Pancakes:

  • 1 Cup of Gluten Free Bisquick
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 1 Cup Full Fat Coconut Milk
  • 1 Teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Giner
  • 1/8 Teaspoon All Spice
  • 1/8 Teaspoon Cloves

Measure out all of the ingredients and add to a good sized mixing bowl. Mix well until all ingredients are well incorporated. The batter turned out very thick. I took a spoonula and took about a palm sized amount in my hand. The pancakes turned out much better if you roll it in a ball, then slightly flatten it.

Add a smidgen of coconut oil to a small pan.

I did one pancake at a time. This allows you to flip the pancakes instead of having to use a spatula. I’m working on a short YouTube video to show you what I did. The smaller, palm sized cakes did the best flipping. Too big and it flips about like an omelet. Too big and it’s like dough in the middle. Keep it small, do one at a time, and you’ll be successful.

If you enjoy syrup, or let your kids have some, make sure to buy the good stuff and avoid high fructose corn syrup. It’s expensive, but well worth it.

I hope you enjoy this modified recipe. I invite you to feel free to take any recipe and modify it for your own needs. Don’t settle for plain and bland. Be bold and kick it up a notch! Come back next time and see what recipe I’ll try to fiddle with next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Julia Child quote

Leave a Reply

