Asian Inspired Meatballs

Asian Inspired Meatballs 2

I don’t think that you will just like these meatballs. I think you will LOVE them! Why? My husband, the pickiest person I know, really, really likes them! Liked them so much he asked me to make them again tonight! For some reason, one night on the edge of the budget, I was trying to figure out what to make that was cheap, yummy, and easy. My broiler has recently become my bff in the kitchen, so away I went. I took the sauce recipe from ‘A Korean Supper’ that I had paleofied from Maangchi on YouTube (link in other blog post).

Here’s what you’ll need for these ultimate Asian Meatballs:

  • 5 large Garlic Cloves
  • 1 Green Onion (Separate the white part from the green part.)
  • 2 tablespoons Soy Sauce GF Alternative (Such as Tamari or Coconut Aminos)
  • 1 tbsp cooking wine (miram) -or- Just use water.
  • 1 tablespoon coconut sugar
  • 1 tablespoon honey (Use local if you can!)
  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • Ground Pork (I used ground turkey but it turned out very dry! If you can’t find ground pork, buy some cutlets that are similar to cubed steak ((only it’s pork)) and throw it in a high power Ninja Blender until it’s more squishy and mold-able.)

Add all of the sauce ingredients (everything but the pork) into a small food processor and send it for a whirl! When it is well combined, it’s ready. Roll your ground meat into a 1 1/2 to 2 inch ball and put in a glass baking dish. Drizzle the sauce over the meatballs but make sure to save some for when it needs flipped. I did try this on a baking cookie sheet, but the sauce burnt and did not work as well. The glass pan held the juices from the meatballs.

Set your broiler to high. Depending on how hot and fast you like to cook, you might turn it on low and keep an eye on it. I set my first batch for 10 minutes and then turned them. Sometimes, depending on the quality of the meat, it ended up just a bit dry, so I say drop it down to 7 minutes to be safe. Then turn them over, pour some more sauce over the meatballs to baste them then stick them back in for 7 more minutes. Make sure they’re cooked through. If not, turn the oven off. It should be hot enough to keep cooking, but set a timer. I can’t stress this enough…Set a timer! Let it just set in there for a few more minutes and it should be fine.

If you’re not paleo, throw this on some rice like my husband likes! If you are paleo and are better at cauliflower rice than I am, go for it! On the previous blog post ‘A Korean Supper’ there is a lovely recipe, paleofied Cold Cucumber Soup that is very delicious and goes well with this meal.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I think it’d be a great arsenal to have for guests, and they don’t even have to know it’s paleo! I’m sending you easy, paleo Asian Inspirations from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time and see what this Common Sense Cook and her bff the broiler come up with next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

