Recipe Review – Banana Nut Chocolate Chip Muffins

I think it is common knowledge that paleo baking is difficult, and does not often turn out like the baked goods we grew up with. I have made a few different recipes and nothing has turned out quite right. This recipe from Paleo OMG will definitely be one that I love and will make again. I’ve read a few of her recipes, and I rather love her sense of humor. It’s not every day that you find someone with the same weird sense of humor as yourself. I find that most of the people I like to follow are those who I can imagine sitting at my counter, sipping a glass of wine, sharing the recipe and gabbing about food.

Here’s what you’ll need for these awesome muffins:

  • 3 bananas, mashed with a fork
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 Cup Smooth Almond Butter (I used peanut butter because a certain kid of mine ate all of the almond butter.)
  • 1/4 Cup Coconut Flour
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 Cup Chopped Walnuts
  • 1/2 Cup Chocolate Chips (I used Ghirardelli 60% Cocoa Chips.)

I firmly believe in following the instructions with baking so here are her exact instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mash bananas in a large bowl. Add eggs, maple syrup, almond butter, and vanilla extract and mix together.
  3. Then add coconut flour, cinnamon, baking soda and powder and a pinch of salt and mix well.
  4. Lastly, fold in walnuts and chocolate chips.
  5. Use an ice cream scoop to scoop batter into 9 cups of a silicone muffin pan.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes. Let cool before removing from silicone pan.

I mean, come on girl! It’s so easy! I did exactly as it said. My bananas were a little unripe, but they worked. I actually used good quality maple syrup. And, as my note above mentioned, I had to use peanut butter because my youngest decided he was too hungry to wake up mommy and wait for breakfast. He took it upon himself, and his fork, to the fridge to scrape together the last of the almond butter. Which, is okay, because it’s a good lesson that we can’t be paleo perfectionists all of the time. I did use cupcake liners for the muffin pan, then put the rest of it in a pie pan. I didn’t use a silicone pan, but it sounds like a pretty awesome idea to consider in the future.

My children loved them and so did I! I think this will be a great celebration cake, by putting it in the 8″ pie pan. It actually had a cake like texture. The chocolate added depth, and the walnuts enhanced the texture. I think it really helped in my experiment of failed muffin attempts. Here’s the link to the original recipe: http://paleomg.com/banana-nut-chocolate-chip-muffins/ I hope you’ll check her out and try out this recipe. Her newsletter is pretty great too!

I hope you enjoy Juli’s recipe. I hope you’ll come back next time to see what yummy, paleo recipes I’ll try, and share next. It seems only common sense to share these amazing bloggers; from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

2 thoughts on “Recipe Review – Banana Nut Chocolate Chip Muffins

Leave a Reply

