Bacon Braised Brussels

I have seen many bloggers do this recipe. I think this is a basic recipe that most anyone can pull off. Did the word Brussels turn you off? No wait! Come back! I also said bacon y’all! I learned, not too long ago, that if you steam Brussels they can often have a bitter taste to it. Bacon braising some Brussels sprouts actual allows the flavor to mellow and makes it more palatable and appealing to those pickier folks.

Here’s what you’ll need for these veggies made awesome:

  • Fresh Brussels Sprouts
  • Bacon

Tah dah! How simple is that? Two ingredients!

Make sure to rinse your Brussels and make sure any grit or dirt is removed. You may want to remove the first layer of leaves. Another great tip to help the flavor is to trim the ends of the sprout. Don’t chop it off, just shave a little off. You can also pierce this end with a small knife. I hear that this helps it to keep its shape.

Brown your bacon in a pan. It’s up to you how crispy you like it but keep in mind, we’ll be cutting them up into pieces. However…I’m not a fan of burnt bacon, so don’t over do it. Remove the bacon and let it dry on a paper towel. When it’s cool enough to handle, break it or cut it into pieces. Set aside.

Drop your freshly prepped Brussels into the hot bacon grease. Swirl them around and let them get soft. If they start to brown too much, turn the heat down a bit. If you need to, AND I STRESS WITH CAUTION, add a 1/4 cup of water and put the lid on. You want to make sure they’re tender. If you just can’t seem to get them done in the middle with bacon grease alone, carefully add the water and lid. Remember, oil and water don’t mix, although hopefully you bought a good quality bacon that leaves a half pound of bacon fat behind. It’s best to do this after a good while of cooking and the oil is mostly absorbed and they are starting to brown. This should really take about 10 minutes, always depending on how hot and fast you’re comfortable with cooking.

I hope you’ll give this a try. You might be surprised if you serve this to your Thanksgiving guests, as to who all enjoys this side dish. And if not, more for me! 🙂

We can’t have a Paleo Thanksgiving without bacon being in there somewhere. So I’m sending you a yummy paleo side dish to wow the crowd, from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time to see what this Veggie Loving, Common Sense Cook will do next…you know with bacon…and/or veggies. ❤ Remember, I’ll be trying to post a recipe a day until Thanksgiving. If you have any questions or need any help, leave me a comment or pop on over to the Facebook page. You can find a link at the very end of the page. And of course, as always, I want pictures y’all!

-Ami M. Lee, Southern, Y’all in Every Sentence, Common Sense Cook

2 thoughts on “Bacon Braised Brussels

    • Ami M. Lee says:

      I will make sure to take one on Thursday! All of my food pictures from last year were on my computer that is still in pieces after the tornado. I’m hoping to recover them eventually, but until then I will have to wait till I fix it again. I’ll make a note of it to come back and post one. It’s just too good not to share.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

