Honey Butter

Honey Butter

It’s Thanksgiving Eve. The sun is setting and it’s slowly getting darker in the living room. My kids are taking naps. My husband is still in bed (because he works nights), and I’m watching my father-in-law across the street move their mail box so they can widen their driveway. I was sitting here somewhat enjoying the quiet, then I realized how much blogging, and other jazz I need to get done. But, to me, it’s only Common Sense to give yourself time to breath. Everyone keeps telling me to stop stressing out. So here I go…Can’t be stressed about butter y’all.

Here’s what you’ll need for this Epic Butter:

  • 1 block of Kerrygold Irish Grassfed Butter, Unsalted (I’m sure you could use conventional butter, but I’m paleo, so just roll with the expensive butter for now y’all.)
  • Raw Local Honey (It has so many benefits, so I bought a huge jar before Farmer’s Market season ended.)

Two ingredients. Yep. You’ll never need to buy over processed, extra chemical laden butter again.

If you have the time, let your butter sit out and soften. I let mine sit out for a while and it didn’t seem soft enough to whip so I just threw it in the microwave for 30 seconds. You DO NOT want to melt the butter. Just soften the butter. It should still be opaque, and still have form, but most definitely will be soft and whippable.

Add it into a mixing bowl. Take a whisk and start swirling around until it seems an even texture. Now, as far as how much honey you would like to add, this can depend. Nobody is up, so I just added maybe a 1/4 cup. I know this honey. I’ve been using this honey for a while and it is STRONG! I am hoping my husband can try it before tomorrow so I can get a good gauge on how strong it is. Taste the honey first hand. Use your best judgment. And as always, taste, taste, and re-taste. That’s the best part of being the cook on Thanksgiving.

I hope you enjoy this quick and easy recipe. I’m sending you warm, honey buttered, happiness from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time to see what I can whip up next. Have a Happy Thanksgiving, and remember, I LOVE pictures! Even if you didn’t use one of my recipes, I’d love to see some pictures over on the Facebook page listed at the very end of the post.

-Ami M. Lee, Butter Lovin’, Turkey Basting, Common Sense Cook

One thought on “Honey Butter

Leave a Reply

