Gluten Free Cheesy Bread Sticks

Let me begin this with…We’re all human with weird cravings. Even us paleo’s sometimes miss conventional foods. If you’re like me…It is just NOT an option to slip up. Gluten exposure leaves me feeling awful. Too much dairy and I feel like a balloon. Same goes for too much almond butter (I love Almond Butter a little too much). One night my husband was talking about food we used to eat and I got to thinking about cheese filled bread sticks. The kind we bought were like eating an Olive Garden bread stick with a mozzarella cheese string in the middle. Talk about unhealthy habits, I could eat 5 or more by myself.

I had made a pizza dough from The Domestic Man (link at the end) that used parmesan cheese in it. Technically primal more than paleo. From my understandings, primal diets are more okay with dairy. Hard cheeses like parmesan, from what I read, are much more tolerable. My very lactose intolerant kiddo was even okay with these! I’m really starting to think there is a correlation between (at least for my child) the quality of the dairy and his tolerance level. But any hoo…On to the bread sticks y’all!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups tapioca starch or flour (it’s the same thing)
  • 1/4 cup each heavy cream and water (or 1/2 cup coconut milk instead of cream & water)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • pinch of white pepper (I used black pepper just fine.)
  • 3/4 cup parmesan cheese (or any hard cheese), grated

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a saucepan, combine the coconut milk, butter, and salt and bring to a simmer on med/low heat. You want to get it to the point that it’s starting to bubble, but not boiling. In a large bowl, add the tapioca starch. When the cream/water mixture is heated, add it to the starch and stir it all together. I use a spoonula to mix gently. It can get flaky, but that is okay. Let it cool for 5 minutes.

Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil. Rub down with a little butter or coconut oil to help prevent sticking (as much).

Add the beaten egg to the mixture, and knead together with your hands. Add the cheese, white pepper, and oregano, and mix together until it’s dough-like.

Take about a golf ball sized piece in your hand. Depending on how sticky the dough is (I’ve had it be super sticky, and not very sticky at all…almost conventional dough like) you may be able to roll it in a ball, then push lightly with your fingers and roll it out into a snake. I’m thinking that the kind of cheese may have affected the consistency of the dough. The best one so far was an aged Romano.

This recipe, as is, makes about 6 about 5 inches long. They may vary in size, but that’s okay. I found that the ones that were about two fingers width wide were the best. Lay them on the cookie sheet and throw them in the oven for 25 minutes. They should be starting to turn a lovely golden brown color.

Let them cook a few minutes and peel them off the aluminum foil. I think that it is very important that you have the foil for easier clean up and removal after they’re cooked.

These bread sticks are crunchy on the outside and chewy, gooey, cheesy on the inside. My non-paleo husband wasn’t too sure about the texture. So, you may be cautious if you have family members that are really picky about textures of food. However, me and the kids ate them up! It may have been a long time since I had conventional bread, but I was thoroughly satisfied! This went great with Potato Soup (recently blogged).

I hope you enjoy this recipe! I encourage you all to look at recipes and find ways to use them more than the way they are printed. You never know what amazing things you could come up with! Don’t forget to check out the original recipes for The Domestic Man’s Cast Iron Skillet Grain and Gluten Free PIzza (http://thedomesticman.com/2012/12/13/cast-iron-skillet-grain-and-gluten-free-pizza/). As always, I’m sending you warmth and cheesiness from my kitchen to yours! I hope you’ll come back next time to see what recipe I’ll work with next.

-Ami M. Lee, Cheese Loving, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

