Recipe Review – Liver and Onions

Liver is one of the most nutrient dense organs you can get. It’s also very cheap! I don’t know about grass fed liver that is most recommended, but I found one for $2.16 for a pound! That is ridiculously cheap. It also was able to feed me and three little kiddos well for lunch. I just chopped it up into smaller pieces to make it look more like normal beef.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Bacon Grease (4 tablespoons)
  • 2 large yellow onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 Pound of LIver (I read lamb and bison is much milder than beef, chicken.)

Isn’t that great? 3 ingredients!

Add 2 tablespoons of the bacon grease into a large sauce pan. I used a 6 on my glass top stove, so bring the pan up a little bit over medium heat. The onions should sizzle almost instantly when you add them to the pan. Stir them continuously so that they don’t stick to the pan. This could take 10 to 15 minutes until they are soft and tuning a lovely brown color. Remove them from the pan and set them aside.

Add two more tablespoons of bacon grease. Let it melt and get warm before adding the liver. Depending on the size you should cook a very thin piece 30 seconds to 1 minute per side. A half inch or more should be cooked 1 to 2 minutes per side. I did about 1 minute, 30 seconds on each side. So quick. So fast.

For a more visually….palatable plate (I’m questioning my word usage here….) I decided to cut it up into small pieces. I piled on the onions and away it went on tiny dishes to my kids. I was waiting full of hope. My husband even decided to try it!

At first, my husband was shocked! It was practically good…Until…The after taste kicked in. Here’s the thing about my husband, he is a super taster. He can taste anything and everything in a dish. The texture was okay, the initial flavor was good…but the strong after taste put him off. I was able to get two kids to finish their food, but my youngest refused. However, Madison was very convincing when she said she liked it…But she may have just been talking about the onions, which she already loves.

The recipe came from The Paleo Approach Cookbook by Dr. Sarah Ballantyne, The Paleo Mom. This recipe is Autoimmune Protocol (AIP friendly) and is very nutrient dense. I see the great benefits in this so while we don’t like it as is, it is a great starting point. I actually ended up taking the leftovers and made her Hidden Liver Meatloaf, with a few alterations for things I had on hand. So, while it isn’t the most positive recipe review, it’s not bad either. I think if you wanted to try liver (because it’s not too much out of the budget to try) this would be the place to start to learn how the food tastes. I always think of Julia Child saying you should know how the food should taste.

I hope you enjoy this recipe if you try it! There are plenty of people out there that love liver and onions. I should be able to get my take on Hidden Liver Meatloaf up soon. If you try it out, be sure to send me a picture on the Facebook page!

-Ami M. Lee, Offal Trying, Nutrient Density Searcher, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

