Recipe Review – Peppermint Hot Chocolate

Paleo Parents Peppermint Hot Chocolate

Well. Three out of Five of us have come up with a cold. Supper was rather disappointing from the lack of taste bud power. I am hoping my husband can give me a verdict since I tried a Beef and Wine Stew in the Pressure Cooker. I realized that I was still feeling hungry…or thought I felt hungry. Even though I ate plenty. I think this is more of a psychological need to taste.

I discovered this recipe a while back. I am happy to report that this has a 3/3 kiddo approval rating. I think the Paleo Parents out did themselves on this one. And, the great thing about using peppermint extract, is that it is so powerful, I can actually taste it! ^__^ Original link: http://paleoparents.com/featured/peppermint-hot-chocolate/

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 Cups Coconut Milk (I have used carton and canned. Just use something full fat for better texture.)
  • 1/4 Cup Cacao Powder (I used Hershey’s.)
  • 2 Tablespoons Maple Syrup (They recommend Grade B.)
  • 3/4 Teaspoon Peppermint Extract (I found McCormick brand at Wal-Mart near the spices.)
  • 2 to 4 Marshmallows (Real Life Paleo has a recipe!)

Add your milk to a medium sauce pan. Place on medium heat (A 5 on our glass top stove.) until it comes to a simmer.

Turn the heat down and let it simmer for 5 to 10 minutes and whisk until the bits of cacao powder dissolve completely.

Stir in the peppermint extract.

Pour into 2 mugs. Add marshmallows if desired.

This recipe doubled very well. I was able to give each kiddo their own mug. Thank you whoever invented Corelle! I think it made them feel rather special too. Make sure to check out the original recipe and try it out. I love following the Paleo Parents instagram, Facebook, and their email subscription. I’m also really hoping for Real Life Paleo for my birthday!

I hope you’ll check out The Paleo Parents and try this recipe. By far, my favorite beverage of late. So good for these bitter cold, wet days we’ve been having here in Arkansas. Come back next time and see what other recipes I either try or just make up.

-Ami M. Lee, Peppermint Loving, Hot Mug Holding, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

