Recipe Review – Dill Butternut Squash Fries

Chicken and Butternut Squash Fries

Chicken, No-Mato Sauce, and Dill Butternut Squash Fries

I can’t hold out any longer friends. This is by far my favorite new side dish. I’ve never been one to eat a lot of conventional french fries (with white potatoes). I received the book ‘The Paleo Kitchen’ by Juli Bauer and George Bryant for Christmas. The book is absolutely beautiful. Great pictures fill the pages of interesting and different recipes. I saw these unique fries and had to try them immediately. Since that time, I believe I’ve made them 3 times and feel like I am prepared enough to give you my thoughts. (Other than, conventional french fries, who?)

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 Butternut Squash
  • 1 Tablespoon of Coconut Oil, Melted
  • 3 Tablespoons roughly chopped, Fresh Dill (One of my favorite seasonings!)
  • 2 Teaspoons Coarse Sea Salt (Or I used Pink Himalayan Salt)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Cut the ends off of the butternut squash and cut in half, length-wise. Remove the seeds with a spoon. (I’m saving mine, since I bought an organic one to see if I can grow my own!) Peel the skin with a vegetable peeler. Here’s the hard part. (Unless you have really good sharp knives.) Most butternut squashes have a rounded end where the seeds are, and a long, thick, solid longer piece towards the stem. This makes it harder to cut useful pieces. I cut at the end of the bulb and cut them separately for better pieces. Then try to cut them in to 1/4 inch slices, then place flat and cut into fry like shapes. A little complicated…but this is the only way I’ve done it so far.

Toss them in a big bowl and add the coconut oil, dill, and salt. Spread them out on a cookie sheet, covered in aluminum foil. Please make sure they don’t over lap. I tried throwing a bunch of them in a casserole dish and seeing what it’d do. They turned to mush. Yummy mush….but mush.

Bake for 35 minutes until crunchy on the outside and soft and tender on the inside. The book says to put them on a cooling rack to help retain the crisp. I haven’t done this and they’re just fine…but I would like to try that…especially for the kids and husband. Eat. Enjoy. 🙂

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I am considering doing a book review because this is a really great book that I hope you’ll check out. I also listened to a great podcast on The Paleo Mom with Juli and George and they seem like really awesome people. Check it out and make sure you come back next time. You never know what recipe I’ll try out next.

-Ami M. Lee, Dill Addict, The Common Sense Cook

Reference:

Bauer, Juli & Bryant, George. (2014) The Paleo Kitchen. Victory Belt Publishing Inc. Las Vegas. (Pg. 219)

Leave a Reply

