Gordon Asian Soup

I really have no clue what to call this! I was watching Gordon’s Great Escapes, where famous chef Gordon Ramsay goes to foreign countries to eat and learn how to cook their national cuisine. I’ve watched India, Thailand, and Cambodia so far. I have been feeling pretty down, diet wise, because I’ve had some issues giving up nuts while on AIP (the AutoImmune Protocol). I think subconsciously I’ve been searching for some inspiration, since I’ve been doing a lot of cooking other people’s recipes. I have so many recipe reviews coming up…But I love doing what I do best…Making stuff up!

I wanted some soup. Soup is a big deal when you’re AIP. Bone broth is supposed to be great for helping to heal the gut. However, I am not the kind of person who can just drink a cup-O-broth for breakfast. I think it’s a texture issue. So…I decided to make an inspired, Asian’ee soup. What hit me that Gordon said was, if you want to eat healthy, throw away your fridge and cook fresh! Not that I’m throwing Jacque away (my fridge’s name…Julia is my stove and Gordon is my Crock Pot). But here we go!

Here’s what I threw together in a pot (This is a serving for 1 person.):

  • 2 Cups of Bone Broth (I used turkey bone broth.)
  • 1/2 Cup Filtered Water
  • 3 shakes of Red Boat Fish Sauce
  • 1 piece of Lemon Grass
  • 1 Green Onion
  • 1 Teaspoon Ginger (I used dried/powdered, because it’s what I had on hand. Fresh will be stronger so use your best judgement.)
  • 1 Garlic Clove, minced
  • 1 Piece of thinly sliced beef (I used a piece of beef already cut very thinly and used a pair of scissors to cut into thin strips.)
  • A few drops of fresh squeezed Lemon Juice

Gordon Asian Soup Broth

Add everything except the beef and lemon juice into a sauce pan. Scissors must be the ultimate kitchen hack for me. I cut the lemon grass in a few pieces, cut the green onion into small pieces, and you can use it to prep your beef. Use a hand held microplane for garlic and fresh ginger if you have it. Let the broth come up to a boil.

Ready for the hard part? Add the beef…stir it until the beef is no longer pink. This may take 10 minutes or less. Definitely let it come back to a boil. Turn it off. Ladle it into a bowl. Sprinkle a few drops of lemon juice over your bowl.

Let me tell you why I’m staying up late to blog this….I was down right amazed with this! I actually tipped my bowl up and drank the broth! It took me a minute to figure out to add the lemon juice, but it made this just perfect to me! I don’t know if there is a specific culinary dish that is like this. If you know, leave me a comment! I’d love to know what to call this other than Gordon Soup. ^__^

Another great thing about this soup is that it is AutoImmune Protocol friendly!! Wah-ha! The broth even seemed a 3/3 kiddo approval in initial taste testing. I think this was so easy that I could be half asleep in the morning and make this for breakfast. I hope this will inspire you to go in your kitchen and whip some up.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. Make sure you come back next time. You never know where the train of inspiration will take us next.

-Ami M. Lee, Inspired, Food Traveling, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

