Coconut Butter

Coconut Butter

This may be the toughest recipe I’ve ever done! While there is only one ingredient…the prep of this recipe is long and tough. I’m not one to be negative, but if you don’t have a very, high powered blender. This will not work. Even my Ninja blender that I normally brag on as affordable and great working…Just couldn’t do it. I had to pull out the big gal…the loud….the powerful, Black and Decker Food Processor.

What is coconut butter? Oh man. It is a sweet spread and my kiddos agree that it goes great on apples. I’ve seen recipes where you can use it as “frosting” for cinnamon rolls or added into recipes to make chocolate chunks. It definitely has it’s uses. The problem for me as a budget conscious momma is that a pre-made jar is over $8 before tax and isn’t even organic at our local store. Is it worth it? After the trouble of this recipe…I see why it is a little more expensive but let’s save some money and do it ourselves if we have the resources!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 – 7 ounce Packages of Wild Oats Marketplace Organic Unsweetened Coconut Flake (Found at Wal-Mart.)

If your food processor bowl is big enough, go ahead and add all of the coconut flake. If not, add it in batches as space allows. This is the hard part…. It’s loud. It’s a long time to wait. But, basically you go until it turns into a creamy consistency. Keep an eye out and stop it to scrape down the sides to help it along. This can take anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes depending on the ability of your food processor. This should fill up a 12 oz jar.

While you’re waiting, here’s the benefits of all that hard work. Instead of $8 plus tax for a jar; I was able to make mine homemade and organic for $4.11 with tax (of course that’ll vary depending on where you live). Basically, you could save over half by taking some time to do it yourself!

When doing diets like Paleo and the Autoimmune Protocol, it seems very important to me to save where you can. Real food coupons are not released as frequent as junk food coupons. If you can make things from scratch, it really helps save on the budget. And in turn, you might make you’re grandparents happy by doing what they grew up doing.

I hope you enjoy the fruits of your labor with this recipe. I’m sending you an ooey gooey snacking alternative from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. Come back next time and see what recipes I can hammer out next.

-Ami M. Lee, Coconut Butter Loving, Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

