Pressure Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage (AIP)

The Crescent Hotel

Last year for our anniversary we took a trip to Eureka Springs, Arkansas to stay at the Crescent Hotel and ended in Branson, MO. While we were in Eureka Springs, we ate at the Pied Piper. This was back before I went Paleo. I saw corned beef and cabbage and couldn’t resist. It even came recommended by the waitress/manager. It was probably my favorite meal of the entire trip! The flavor was out of this world! To top it off, the cook was 18 years old! I think…his name was Colter? I really hope that kid goes somewhere because that was amazing!

So a while back I was getting nostalgic and decided I wanted to try to recreate this memory. I started off at Google and ended up with probably the most simple option. Sometimes, especially with doing a diet like Paleo or the Autoimmune Protocol, the best thing to do is just make it simple.

Corned Beef and Cabbage

Here’s what you’ll need to sit on memory lane with me:

  • Flat Cut Corned Beef (Pick your size! I try to stay around 3 lbs and that’s often more cost friendly.)
  • 1 Onion
  • 1 Cabbage
  • 2 Cups of Bone Broth

From what I read and understand that corned beef is a brisket that has been cured in sugar and salt. There are several articles if you’d like to buy this cut in the quality you desire and using the curing process that you want. Or just buy it. It’s up to you. I’m all for grass fed and diy, but if you’re on a budget like mine, do what you feel is best.

Throw out that spice packet that comes with it if you’re on the AIP. It is not listed as to what the spices are and it looks like there is mustard seed. Seeds are out on AIP so just toss it. I really don’t understand why it needs the extra spices because it’s already such a flavorful cut.

Put the metal insert to keep the meat off the bottom into your pressure cooker. Add the onion and bone broth. Your pressure cooker, always needs to have some liquid in it. I make homemade bone broth that is full of lots of flavor and be mindful of store bought broth that may have gluten in it if you are Paleo/AIP. Add the corned beef into the pressure cooker. You can do this one of two ways. I added the cut up cabbage for the 1st 30 minutes instead of the last. It’s up to you friends. Which ever you would like to do. But, as usual, I was winging it.

Check the tenderness at the first 30 minutes. I believe I had to have mine back in for another 45 minutes.

Please, please, please make sure to read your instructions on how to work your pressure cooker and how to safely release the pressure from the unit. I am considering a separate post with Common Sense Philosophies to share about my pressure cooker and how I love to use it.

The great thing is, this is a one pot meal. If you want some potatoes, you can throw some potatoes in.

This cut should practically fall apart. Scoop it out and put it in a bowl, and enjoy! That’s it! Clean up is bowls and the pressure cooker insert. So simple. So easy.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I’m sending easy, yummy, super fast suppers, from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time. I have plenty more ways to share about my new bff the pressure cooker.

-Ami M. Lee, Pressure Cooker Pro, Corned Beef and Cabbage Loving, Common Sense Cook

3 thoughts on “Pressure Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage (AIP)

Leave a Reply

