Common Sense Philosophies – Cooking Fats

I think a great thing about Paleo/AIP is that Fat is no longer a four letter word. Well…it isn’t a four letter word literally or figuratively. When you enter into this lifestyle, in what ever version that may be, you may be perplexed with recipes that call for coconut oil, lard, tallow, avocado oil, or many others. Is cooking fat, just fat? Well…there are a lot more in depth articles than this one, so I encourage you to go to Google my friends, especially the health benefits.

My Favorite Cooking Fats

1. Olive Oil

Olive oil is one of the first cooking fats that I used that was considered “health beneficial.” I love the flavor that it can give to certain foods. I found out how simple and delicious it could be to cook thin chicken breast pieces with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil. I’ve since learned that olive oil is better suited for lower temperatures and cold on salads. Now…I have heard through the grapevine that if you get olive oil too hot, it loses some of it’s beneficial properties.

2. Coconut Oil

What can I not say about coconut oil? Coconut oil is very versatile. You see it in a lot of paleo/aip baking, you can do stir-fry or frying. It does have a higher smoke point than olive oil. I’ve used this for frying off some chicken nuggets with a coconut flake crust (recipe coming soon), or stir fries. It is very versatile. I also stopped using conventional, store bought facial cleansers. I do about a teaspoon of coconut oil, honey, and coconut sugar. My face has never been clearer in my life. I have oily, combo skin with extreme sensitivity. Best thing that has ever happened in my skins life is this, and doing paleo/aip.

3. Avocado Oil

This is one of the more expensive oils you can buy. But, I urge you to look around! I bought a bottle at Kroger to “try it out” and ended up spending $13! However…I found a bigger bottle at Target for $9. The benefits of avocado have long been known and if you really want to invest in good quality oils, this is what I would recommend. Why? The highest smoke point. I really notice that olive and coconut oils turn brown real fast when they get hot for too long. I did a ribeye steak just the other night and the avocado kept up very well and was able to take high heat for the 7 minutes on each side. I was very impressed.

Fatworks Tallow and Lard

4. Lard and Tallow

I especially love Fatworks Lard and Tallow. Now, lard is an acquired smell. I started using for Sweet Potato Apple Hash and blasted right through the jar. It gives great flavor. However, tallow is by far my favorite. Lard stays a thick but liquid consistency while the tallow was solid. I think I liked tallow more because of the flavor. Both hold up very well and add great flavor. Plus…one of my favorite things about companies like fatworks, and other organic/grass fed/pastured products is putting money in the hands of people who truly cares about what is going into your body, the welfare of the animals they raise, and support sustainable farming practices.

So these are just some of my favorites that I’ve used so far. I know I would love to get my hands on some ghee. Tin Star Foods is on my radar because she runs a great Facebook page and is a very hard worker. Fatworks is also another great page to follow on Facebook and Instagram.

I encourage you to check out the health benefits of using these oils. They can get expensive but I like to space them out. Coconut oil, for sure goes a lot longer than the others.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know below…What’s your favorite cooking fat and what do you use it for?

-Ami M. Lee, Fat Loving, Common Sense Cook

One thought on “Common Sense Philosophies – Cooking Fats

  1. katharinetrauger says:

    Sorry to say butter is my favorite and adds the cholesterol children SO need. I use it to make an amazing cheesecake crust, with a recipe for graham cracker crust, substituting almond meal for crumbs and stevia or xylitol, (or a combination) for sugar. It does not hold up well at room temp, but refrigerated is superb! At room temp it tends to be a bit liquidy, but that makes it idea for cheesecake-cupcakes, since I drop a tsp. of crust goo into each cupcake paper, then bounce the pan on the counter a couple of times to make them all spread out perfectly in the bottoms of the cups. Then I freeze to solidify the crust and fill and bake. Mmm!

    Like

Leave a Reply

