A Month in Review – February

This has not been my busiest blogging month by far. Neither was last month. But, my passion is being renewed and I am getting back in the blogging game. That started this morning with a pressure cooker post. I am doing most of my cooking in my pressure cooker and I know that this small appliance is increasing in popularity.

It was a great month food wise. I’ve been dealing with feeding my family mostly paleo and keeping my AIP self fed. One of my favorite go to meals that is fast and easy…especially when the family is eating something I can’t, is ground beef, homemade purple sauerkraut, and sauteed artichoke hearts. My secret ingredient for the beef? Crushed mint! Sounds weird, but AIP basically forces you to try to break out of the box.

Ground Beef, Kraut, and Artichokes

It’s also been a great month for steak. I have honed in my steak cooking abilities this month. Avocado oil has become my bff (see my post on Cooking Fats) because of it’s incredibly high smoke point. I hope to share more about that. Here’s a great picture of what I did last night! My husband was so kind. He asked for fettuccine alfredo with chicken and shrimp, and knew I couldn’t eat it and encouraged me to get something I would enjoy. That really has to show a shift in my line of thinking if I choose a ribeye, collard greens, and turnips with bacon!

Ribeye Steak with Turnips and Collard Greens with Bacon

I also have a ton of recipes to be reviewing. I feel like I’ve been so behind, but I have to share with you guys all of the amazing recipes that are out there! My favorite blogger this month by far has to be Jen from Predominately Paleo. She is very interactive on her Facebook page and just has a wonderful personality that comes through in her writing and recipes. I experimented with her taco recipe and hope to recreate the same results with making taco shell bowls instead of taco shells. But the picture below is trying to do the full fledged taco shells. They were a little well done, but wow the flavor was amazing!

Predominaately Paleo AIP Taco Shells

So with getting the AIP down, I’m starting to add back in some foods…I think blogging shall hopefully start picking back up. I’ll be shooting for Monday, Wednesday, and Friday’s at least and hope to spend the rest of this day scheduling blogs. I am truly excited to see what the future holds for my little blog. I thank all of you that like and follow the blog. I see some of you so often and I really appreciate it. To all of you new faces, thank you so much for being here. You guys can always follow the Facebook page for more content. I do post on Twitter but it’s also my photography account that should get a little more active come storm season.

What else can I say other than I love you guys and hope to talk to you guys in the comment sections soon!

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

