Paleo Mayonaise

Paleo Mayo

Now…this recipe is called Paleo Mayo… And yes…That has to be the funnest thing to say out loud. (You just tried it didn’t you?) However, I would like to make a great point. I modified this recipe from Nom Nom Paleo to be “almost” AIP. As some of you may know, I’ve been doing the Autoimmune Protocol since January. Thankfully, I have reintroduced eggs. I’m having some trouble with seed based spices, so mayo was going to be an issue. Most mayo’s use mustard in it. But, I think I came up with a pretty delicious alternative to make this okay if you’ve gotten eggs back in but don’t want to mix reintroductions. Or…if you’re not AIP or even if you’re not even Paleo…this is still really amazing! (And green…)

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 3 Egg Yolks (The yellow part only. Save the egg whites for omelet’s. Make sure they’re room temperature! I pull mine out the morning of wanting to make it.)
  • 3/4 Teaspoon of Pink Himalayan Salt
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ginger Powder
  • 4 1/2 Teaspoons Fresh Squeeze Lemon Juice
  • 3 Teaspoons of Vinegar of Choice (I try to avoid white because it’s normally from corn. Red Wine Vinegar worked well. Apple Cider Vinegar is really strong.)
  • 2 1/4 Cups of Avocado Oil (This gives it the green hue. If you try another oil, let me know how it turns out!)

It’s recipes like this that are so delicious and so easy, I wonder why we quit making it ourselves! Add all ingredients except for the oil into a deep mixing bowl. You can do this by hand, but it will take a good long while. I find that my electric “cake” mixer (even though this thing hasn’t touched cake), does a very great job at whipping it up. Whip the first ingredients for 30 seconds until the mix turns golden and frothy. I added all of my oil to an easy to handle measuring cup. You want to add the oil slowly. As it gets about half way through you’ll notice it start to thicken. It should eventually get very thick and almost have peaks or ribbons throughout. It will be just like any mayonnaise like Hellman’s that you remember growing up.

Add this to a glass mason jar and refrigerate it. This didn’t last very long in my house, but it was fine nearly a week out. And a lovely lady named Betsy from a paleo group that I belong to suggested adding some AIP Basil Pesto for a great dip idea! I told her that I could’ve hugged her for such a brilliant idea. I’m even thinking if you’d like to make a spicy mayo, or wasabi mayo…Who knows the 100s of wonderful ideas you could create with this as a base. If you try anything out, come back and share with us! ❤ There’s also a Facebook and Twitter page on the side bar if you’d like to share a picture of what you made with me. I’d love to see it.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I’m sending you creamy, dreamy mayo from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. Come back Monday for Manic Monday where I try to share all of my quick fix dishes, or more simple dishes to help you get through any case of the Monday’s.

-Ami M. Lee, Paleo Mayo on Everything, AIP Healing, Common Sense Cook

One thought on “Paleo Mayonaise

Leave a Reply

