Grilled Asian Pork Chops

Grilled Asian Pork Chops with Kimchi

Today my husband texted me and said that he would be making supper tonight! What!? I was perplexed…Then he informed me it was hot dogs..Which I thought I couldn’t eat because I didn’t know what was in them. I had pounded flat some pork ribeye chops this morning to make a Korean dish from Maangchi on YouTube. I really “paleofy” so many of her dishes. This dish is very nearly AIP (Autoimmune Protocol) and I think easily modifiable if you haven’t added sesame oil back in.

As you can see in the picture above, my husband decided to buy us a grill! I must say, this was the best night I’ve had in a very long time. Loud country music, windows open, grill going and my amazing husband.

Here’s what you’ll need to enjoy these amazing grilled chops:

  • Pork Ribeye Chops (A thick, but small cut that pounds out beautifully!)
  • 1 Tablespoon Garlic Powder
  • 1 Tablespoon Ginger Powder
  • 1 Tablespoon Onion Powder
  • Salt and Pepper (Omit Pepper for AIP)
  • Sesame Oil (Omit for AIP…May add just a little Avocado Oil. It won’t have the same flavor but will help with the grilling.)
  • Coconut Aminos (You can use soy sauce, liquid aminos, or tamari if you’re not Paleo/AIP.)
  • Honey

To flatten your pork chops, pull out your clear wrap and a large mallet. Lay one piece flat. I often wrap my cutting board on the bottom half. Cut another piece to go over top. Place the chop between the clear wrap and pound until 1/4 to 1/2 an inch thick. It’s best to try to work your way from the center out. Don’t over do it though…It could tear.

Lay your chops in a dish or on a platter. Sprinkle with all of the seasonings. For the honey and sesame oil I just did light drizzles. The coconut aminos was just a couple shakes. I let the pork chops marinate for about an hour. You could do this overnight, or even throw them in the freezer. Just make sure to defrost and bring them up to room temperature before cooking. This lets them cook more evenly.

I prefer charcoal, so we stacked the coals and lit them on fire. We waited till the coals were mostly white and the heat was steady. The pork chops cooks rather fast because of the heat and because they are so thin. Grill until your desired color. I made some that were done, but weren’t so charred…I made a few that were nicely charred. Both tasted absolutely amazing. Even my very picky husband who is not too fond of pork said that he liked it! I may or may not have done a little happy dance!

What goes with this kind of meat? I would say rice, if you tolerate it…But I ate it with some white kimchi that I made. The cool and crispness of the kimchi went so well with the flavor from the pork. Oh wait…You’re saying you don’t have an outside grill? Or you found this recipe in the dead of winter? No worries! Try it on an indoor grill, griddle pan, or just fry it up in a regular ole skillet. I think you’ll be glad you did.

I hope you enjoy this recipe! I may have a few Asian inspired recipes coming up including a very veggie sweet and sour sauce, and the white kimchi (not spicy) version I made that is very delicious. I’m sending cool meal ideas for hot grills from my back porch to yours. Come back next time to see what this warm weather will inspire next!

-Ami M. Lee, Grill Queen, Meat Marinating, Common Sense Cook

2 thoughts on “Grilled Asian Pork Chops

Leave a Reply

