Manic Monday – Paleo Chicken Salad

Paleo Chicken Salad

Lunch has to be my least favorite meal. I just don’t know what to make half the time. I don’t want to cook a full meal, but I need to feed four people. These little kiddo of mine are getting more of the big kid appetites. Day after day…What in the world am I going to feed you little people, rolls across my mind. I was looking through “the pinterest” and happened across a club chicken salad. Lost that recipe and had to do what I do best… Making things up as I go.

On a funny side note…As I sit here blogging and realizing how many times I say that, I can see a whole line of cookbooks… “Paleo Stuff that I make Up.” “Still Making Stuff Up.” or “Making Stuff Up, Too Paleo, Too Fast.” Okay maybe that last one is a little silly… But I do dare to dream.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 Package of Chicken Tenderloins (The strips…Or go ahead and cut up the breasts yourself.)
  • 1 Package of Bacon (I do Simple Truth or Oscar Mayer Selects without nitrates and such.)
  • Green Onion
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of Homemade Mayo (Check out my previous blog: https://acommonsensecook.wordpress.com/2015/03/28/paleo-mayonaise/)
  • Lettuce Wraps (Or bread if you do bread. The kiddos enjoyed it as a sandwich.)

Cut up your bacon into small pieces and add them into a pan. Let them get into the cooking about 5 minutes before adding the pieces of chicken. Spread them out into one layer letting the bacon be in between the pieces. Let cook until a little brown on each side…This shouldn’t take much longer than 15 minutes. If you want to make sure it’s cooked through, go ahead and cut one open.

To make the cutting into bite size pieces easier, use a pair of kitchen scissors. Cut them into a bowl and add the rest of the ingredients. Now…This is super simple. You can add many more things that you like into this. You could even add the salad part. ^__^

For the kiddos, I added some plantain chips with some golden raisins. They enjoyed their sandwich and all of them finished. I would feel good sending this in their school lunches and would be confident that they would eat it without Mommy supervision.

I hope you’ll try this out. Feel free to share any other great ingredients we could include in this in the comments below. Don’t forget you can come chat with me on Instagram (thecommonsensecook), Twitter (@AmiLeePhotos), and Facebook (a link is on the side bar >>>). You can also see that I like a lot of things other than cooking! LOL Make sure you come back next time to see what I can figure out for lunch next.

-Ami M. Lee, Lunch Packer, Bacon Lover, Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

