Bacon Fat Balsamic VInaigrette

howl salad with bacon fat balsamic

Lately, I’ve had an extraordinary craving for balsamic vinegar. It might have to do with discovering an amazing store called “evilO.” It’s a lovely shop in Hot Springs, Arkansas that has specialty oils and vinegars. You can even taste them all! I was spoiled rotten there. I fell in love with the “25 Star” Balsamic Vinegar that was so sweet and smokey in flavor. I’ve already ran out and insist to my husband I need a “25 Star Food Budget.” LOL

After running out, I began playing around with vinaigrette. The kind you buy at the local grocery store is not similar to the “25 Star” Aged Balsamic. It’s tart and tangy, almost spicy. It needs something with it. It’s not like the “25 Star” that I was pouring over everything. So, one night I was crisping up some pork jowl. It’s very similar to bacon. I had a crazy thought…. Olive oil is just fat… Fat from bacon (or jowl in this case) is like oil. So here I went… Making a warm, bacon fat basic vinaigrette.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 Package of Pork Jowl (or bacon)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 Clove of Garlic
  • 2 Heaping Teaspoons of Coconut Sugar
  • Salt and Pepper (Omit Pepper for AIP)

Start by crisping up some jowl or bacon in a frying pan. Set it aside on a paper towel to cut down on the grease and help it get a nice texture. (This gal is not a fan of soggy bacon or jowl.)

Turn the heat down for a few minutes. For cooking the jowl I had my glass top on 6. I would turn it down by about half! Why? Well I decided to add my vinegar in and it started a big ole popping grease mess. Don’t do that to yourself and learn from my mistakes. Give the pan a few minutes to cool off.

Add the rest of your ingredients into the pan. Let it bubble away a few minutes. This also helps take out the rawness of the garlic.

Pour over your salad and enjoy! It’s that easy! One thing that just seems Common Sense to me, is to use everything you can. Don’t just throw out the left over grease! It has it’s uses.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. Make sure you come back next time to see what left over stuff I can make useful. You just never know what this balsamic vinegar loving, Common Sense Cook will do next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

