Goat Gouda Cauliflower

I have had a bit of writers block lately. Recipes just haven’t sounded that great. I’ve been trying to cook simple. But, I’ve been searching for something that just knocked my socks off. I’ve been looking around at other chefs and trying to draw inspiration. Today, I found that with Emeril Lagasse. I was flipping through YouTube and found some recipes for Cauliflower. (Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Dd8e3nAMlg) Now, if you’re not worried about flour/grains feel free to go check out his recipe. I’m sure it is amazing judging from what I was able to adapt. And with this, I hope I can encourage you to try to rewrite recipes. Give it a shot. Paleo and AIP Paleo do not have to be as restrictive as you think. Especially if you’re able to reintroduce, or tolerate foods that generally have good properties. For instance I tolerate dairy just fine even though it’s not technically paleo. Many paleo followers who tolerate dairy will use grass fed, raw dairy or goat cheese that is more easily digestible.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 Large Head of Cauliflower
  • 2 Cups of Organic 1/2 and 1/2
  • 1 Cup of Goat Gouda (Or any other cheese you like. Emeril used Gueyer.)
  • 1/2 of an Onion
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 3 Whole Cloves (Or a tiny pinch of dried.)
  • 1 Shallot
  • 3 Large Cloves of Garlic
  • 1 Tiny Shake of Nutmeg (Use fresh if you can find it!)
  • Optional: Seasoned, Ground Almonds to mimic bread crumbs.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Fill a large pot with water and a good tablespoon of your favorite salt. Add you cauliflower broken up into florets into the pot. Bring it up to a boil. Put a lid on the pot and let it steam until fork tender. You may need to turn down the burner a little bit if it’s boiling too hard. This really just depends on your stove.

While it is cooking add the half and half, onion, bay, and cloves to a small sauce pan and heat through. You do not want it to boil.

Grate or crumble your goat gouda or other cheese of choice in a different pan. Take a fine mesh sieve and carefully strain the milk into the pan with the cheese. Stir and heat it over medium heat until all is incorporated. Add just a dash of nutmeg.

When the cauliflower is done, drain off the water and add it to a large, deep casserole. Pour the cheese mixture all over. If some of the florets are too large, feel free to carefully cut them a little smaller. Use a spoon to make it an even layer so most of the cauliflower is covered.

If you want to mimic the bread crumbs… I took some sliced almonds. Added some parsley, basil, thyme, and rosemary to the food processor. Blitzed it for a few seconds until they were the consistency of bread crumbs and added them to the top.

Put it in the oven for 25 minutes.

Turn the broiler on low. Keep a very close eye on it! Don’t walk away from something under the broiler. This should take less than five minutes. Just cook it under the broiler until the almond crumbs have turned brown.

Let it cool a few minutes before serving then, devour. (Yes, you may want to!)

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I was even surprised when my husband gave this a solid 6/10! (That’s a really good rating for a vegetable!) We are considering working on the texture and maybe not steaming it so much ahead of time. But, this recipe was too good, even as is, not to share. I think my advice is, if you want it more creamy, follow the directions as is. If you like a little more bite, leave the cauliflower a little al dente. You choose. 🙂 We enjoyed this with cupcake tin mini-meatloaf that was pretty good. If you’d like another way to do meatloaf (I think I have 2 other recipes. LOL) just let me know in the comment section below and I’ll get that written up.

I’m sending you yummy ways to get in those 5-7 veggie servings a day, from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back next time and see what this veggie loving, recipe paleofying, Common Sense Cook gal can do next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

