Lemon Pepper Roasted Salmon with Asparagus

DSCN3633

I tell you guys… I’m actually having a bit of fun. I had been craving salmon for a while, but wasn’t sure where to start. I know a lot of times I see where chefs won’t flip the salmon. Well…I like crispy fish. Why? Not sure. Maybe it’s just how I’ve experienced it and liked it. Watery, baked fish just isn’t that flavorful to me. So here’s what I made up. All by myself. With my brain.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Salmon (You could use other fish. I bought a whole filet for my family of 5.)
  • 1 Lemon
  • Fresh Cracked Black Pepper (Omit for AIP)
  • Pink Himalayan Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • 4 ounces Grassfed Butter (I use Kerrygold. For AIP try using Ghee instead.)
  • Fresh Asparagus (If you can’t find fresh, just choose something else. -Julia Child)
  • Balsamic Vinegar (or other tasty vinegar of choice)

Start by prepping the asparagus. It is always a good idea to remove the ends. Simply bend the end and let it naturally snap where it will. Then, use a vegetable peeler to remove the top layer of the asparagus, but not removing the point tops.

Lay out your salmon on an aluminum foil covered cookie sheet. If you don’t want to use foil make sure to grease the pan very well. Do the same for the asparagus and spread them out.

Season your salmon and asparagus. For the salmon, place skin side down and add a drizzle of olive oil then salt, pepper, lemon juice and a few small pieces of butter. You can do the exact same for the asparagus, but I love to add balsamic vinegar. Just a little drizzle so that it doesn’t over power the lovely flavor of the asparagus.

Turn your broiler on to high. Place the asparagus in for 7-10 minutes. This will really depend on the amount and thickness. Never walk away from food under the broiler. Keep a close eye on it. Half way through, consider flipping the asparagus and turning the pan.

When the asparagus is done, take it out and put in the salmon. Broil for 3 minutes. Take it out of the oven and ever so carefully, flip the salmon. This may take a couple of spatulas and tongs to accomplish this, but have no fear. You can do it! The salmon should be skin side up. Put it back in to broil another 3 minutes. Then once again, flip it back over (skin side down) and broil for another 3 minutes. Depending on the thickness of your salmon you may need to add a minute or two. Make sure to check it and don’t be afraid to try a piece. It should flake nicely when done.

This recipe might seem like a fancy, adult meal, but truthfully it can be easily accomplished as a mid-week treat that will please the whole family. My kids actually liked the salmon! So go ahead. Treat yourself my friends!

I hope you enjoy the recipe. I will be including a link below for the YouTube video if you would like to see how I do this. (We all learn different. Some people are great with recipes, others learn visually. I hope this helps!) I’m sending you a lovely, fancy treat without the fancy, long cooking times. Be sure to come back next time to see what this broiler loving, Common Sense Cook will throw under the fire next.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Here’s the video:

Leave a Reply

