Roasted Bacon Wrapped Asparagus (Paleo/AIP)

Roasted Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

The last couple weeks have been crazy! I’ve been experiencing a lot of changes, and it’s still difficult having my husband away at training. Thankfully…Only three more weeks left till his graduation. I wasn’t feeling too hot last night, a little depressed. Food didn’t even sound good. I could have just skipped supper and gone to bed if it wasn’t for the kiddos. I wanted something fast so I knew I could trust my ole buddy, ole pal the broiler.

What I ended up with was superb! I broiled some honey glazed chicken. Whipped up some cauliflower mash, and the star!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 Pound of Asparagus (Cleaned and Ends removed.)
  • Thick Cut Bacon
  • 25 Star Balsamic Vinegar (Or a good vinaigrette.) -Optional-

Cover a cookie sheet with non-stick foil, or parchment paper. Cut your bacon strips in half. Wrap it neatly around the asparagus and carefully place them so that the seam is on the bottom.

Turn the broiler on high and cook for 8-10 minutes or until sufficiently cooked. This can depend on your oven. Remember to never leave anything while it’s cooking under the broiler. Carefully, pull them out of the oven and flip them over. Add them back in under the broiler for another 2 minutes until the other side is done.

Add them to a lovely platter and drizzle a great balsamic vinegar over top and voila! You have a plate full of awesome!

You may be wondering about that kiddo approval rating? I totally got a 3/3 and was thoroughly impressed. They actually like asparagus! It’s not a fluke either because I’ve gotten them to eat it before. (Check out my salmon recipe!)

I hope you’ll try this out! It’s very quick and easy. This would be great for a holiday party! Just make sure to drain the fat for easier party consumption.

I’m sending you quick, yummy treats from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. I’ll be back soon with some more delicious holiday recipes.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

