Holiday Turkey

Holiday Turkey

Some for me and Some for the Bird…

This year, I wanted make my Thanksgiving experience a little bit easier. I wanted to have fun, not stress out. Last year I was in the middle of brussel sprouts and my back gave out and I had to stop. This year, for a few reasons, I decided to keep it simple. This also included my turkey. I’ve also done this with whole chickens as well.

Here’s what you’ll need for a stress free Turkey:

Holiday Turkey

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 2 hr 45mins
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

  • Fresh Whole Turkey (I had a 10 pound bird.)
  • Kerrygold Grassfed Butter
  • Garlic
  • Pink Himalayan Salt
  • Fresh Cracked Black Pepper
  • Fresh Organic Sage
  • Lemon
  • Half of a Fresh Onion
  • Olive oil
  • 1 – 2 White Wine of Choice (Pick something you’ll drink. I used Moscato.)
  • 2 Cups of Bone Broth

Preheat oven to 325  F Degrees

  1. Remove all non-turkey pieces including packaging, giblets, and plastic.
  2. Remove the wish bone for easier carving along with the end of the wings. The wings can be completely removed and saved for bone broth.
  3. Gently slide your hand under the skin to loosen it. Then add a mixture of butter and the seasonings underneath. Feel free to experiment with the seasonings.
  4. Add the lemon, onions, and some whole garlic and more seasonings into the cavity of the bird.
  5. Add it to a large and deep casserole dish. Pour in the wine and bone broth. It should not cover the bird. No more than half way up.
  6. Bake in the oven for 2 hours with an aluminum foil tent. Remove it (carefully) for the last 45 minutes. Time can vary for the the size of the bird. My packaging came with a chart, so check that out or see our trusty friend Google.
  7. Let it rest! You really need to let it rest for at least 30 minutes.
  8. Carve and serve.
  9. Enjoy

I hope you enjoy this recipe! This was a wonderful time. I spent more of my time enjoying my family instead of slaving away in the kitchen. We had mashed potatoes, gluten free dressing, bacon braised kale, honey butter, and rolls.

The greatest compliment was from my Uncle Rick. He’s a great cook! He’s been cooking a very long time and makes that great, home cooked, southern food, including some Cajun food. He told me he was really impressed. That just warmed my heart. Best compliment in the world.

Consider trying this recipe so that you can stress less about that turkey and concentrate on the real reason for the holidays. Spending time with your loved ones.

I’m sending you happy bellies from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. Come back next time for more holiday recipes!

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

