Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everyone!

As I look back on 2015…I can’t help but be thankful. We got through it by the skin of our teeth. We’ve struggled, we’ve fought, we’ve laughed, we’ve cried… We’ve had some success and some failures. But I’d like to stick with the positives.

I feel like I’m getting better with my recipes…I’ve even figured out how to make them printable! Woo hoo! I’m definitely wanting to expand this blog to more than just recipes. For the first year or so, I really kept it to food and food recipes. But, I feel like there’s a need for more of my health journey. A journey that I don’t see much on other blogs.

A lot of blogs come from the perspective of what they have already accomplished. The amazing things they’ve already accomplished. I am not that person that loses 100 pounds in a year. I haven’t conquered a diagnosis… I haven’t even gotten my diagnosis yet. And I’m really rather a mess at times. But, I feel like somebody out there needs to hear it. My years of failure at trying to lose weight and figure it out. Years of eating healthy, being paleo, and feeling like I’m doing it all right and never seeing results. I’m finally getting things in order and feel like I may have something to say.

I finally have my supplements right. I am finally having enough energy to be able to walk daily. I’m super excited about my new FitBit and have a review on the way for the YouTube channel. Speaking of the YouTube channel, I’m really hoping to upload regularly and get that going. It really is a fun way to be able to reach people.

For 2016 my theme of what I want to accomplish is fun, cooking (blogging here for you fine folks), and growing stronger. This last year has been so tough on us, and I’m determined to make sure that I find ways for our whole family to find fun. I want to cook more and share more with you guys. I am really passionate about cooking and I want to concentrate on learning more and bettering my technique. I really do believe and want to get the message out there that anyone can cook!

Lastly, and I think most importantly, I want to grow stronger. Not just physically but in so many ways. That way I can serve as many people as I can be it my husband, children, family, friends, and followers. It’s that little bit of selfishness that actually works. I need to take that time in the morning and go for a walk. I need to make sure I’m taken care of so that I can take care of everyone else.

I hope you will come back in the new year and see what we’re going to cook up and how much fun we can have while growing stronger! I’m sending you many Happy New Year wishes from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours.

-Ami M. Lee, The Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

