Cheesecake Filling (Gluten/Egg Free)

DSCN4212

My first Egg Free Cheesecake with Pumpkin Butter.

This year I have been faced with a new challenge. My youngest was diagnosed with an egg sensitivity. It really came out of no where. He deals with really bad eczema on his legs and we will be doing more testing next month to try to pin point the cause. He’s had this since he was a year old. I was thinking of going ahead and letting him eat the cheesecake with eggs and use my conventional gluten free cheesecake recipe that I guest posted on for Moody Sisters Skincare (Here’s the link: http://www.moodysistersskincare.com/blog/2015/8/11/scrumptious-strawberry-cheesecake-recipe). But, no. I had to figure out how to do this cheesecake without affecting this cutie patootie!

I will admit that my crust did not turn out. The crust in the recipe above is really awesome if you tolerate nuts, and chocolate. But…I tried something out to avoid the chocolate (because caffeine in the chocolate hates me)… And yeah. We don’t always win. Thankfully, the filling was awesome! So here we go.

Cheesecake Filling (Gluten/Egg Free)

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 8 ounce packages of Cream Cheese, At Room Temperature (Choose your quality. If you can afford organic/grass fed, go for it! But don’t feel obligated.)
  • 2 – 8 ounce packages of Mascarpone, At Room Temperature
  • 1 1/4 Cups of Coconut Sugar
  • Flax Egg (2 Tablespoons Flax to 3 Tablespoons of Water)
  • 2 Teaspoons Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • A Tiny Pinch of Pink Himalayan Salt

It is very important that you have your ingredients at room temperature. Don’t skip this step. Also, because this recipe is only for the filling, take care of your crust now so it can be pre-baking (if needed). Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Farenheit.

  1. Mix your flax egg at the proportions above. Stir until it is well mixed and place in the fridge for 15 minutes. This is what will replace the eggs. If you have issues with flax, try a gelatin egg instead! (And let me know below if it worked!)
  2. Mix the cream cheese, mascarpone, and coconut sugar together until well combined.
  3. Add your flax egg. You might be cautious and add it in a quarter at a time and mix as you go.
  4. Add the final ingredients of the lemon juice, vanilla extract, and pink salt and mix until it is all well combined.
  5. Taste, taste, taste! It doesn’t have raw eggs so go ahead and give it a try to see if you’d like to add something else. (I wonder how pumpkin pie spices would be…)
  6. Add your filling to your crust. This makes a LOT of filling so I made sure to put some parchment paper in the dish so that I could avoid spillage and after it set, I could pull it right out of my pan. (I didn’t have a spring form pan this time.) I also didn’t worry about the water bath since I didn’t have the right pan. I used a deep, square, glass pan that worked great!
  7. Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes to 1 hour and 5 minutes. Keep an eye on it, because it could come out earlier.
  8. Let the cheesecake completely cool. This is very important. Do not put a hot cheesecake in the fridge, my friends.
  9. Cover lightly and refrigerate over night and wake up to an amazing cheesecake!

I hope you will give this filling a try. Find your favorite crust and try your best to share with your friends or family, even though it’s tough. I actually topped this off at Thanksgiving with some pumpkin butter. I used this recipe from The Paleo Parents (http://paleoparents.com/2011/pumpkin-butter-and-apple-butter/) but feel free to use any fruit or sauce that you love.

I’m sending you a yummy alternative of an old favorite from my Common Sense Kitchen to yours. I hope you’ll come back soon and see what else I can whip up for the holiday season.

-Ami M. Lee, Cheesecake Lover, Not Afraid to Fail, Common Sense Cook

Leave a Reply

